Good Eats: Pesto Pasta with Sausage & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Hello friends!  I attempted another Pinterest-inspired meal last night…and to my surprise (and the hubby’s),  it was a success! (<– insert shocked face here!)  Original recipe HERE – my adaptations below.

INSPIRATION

PinterestMeal1

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 lb fresh brussels sprouts, ends trimmed and any yellowed/browned outer leaves removed, then sliced in half **I had large brussels sprouts, so I sliced them into fours**
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 lb (16 oz.) orecchiette (or any pasta) **I used bow-tie pasta**
  • 4 chicken sausage links, sliced into 1/4″ thick coins **I used regular sausage link**
  • 5 cloves garlic, peeled and thinly sliced **I used garlic powder**
  • 1/3 cup pesto
  • Parmesan cheese, for serving  

IMG_20140401_170857

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

 

  • Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F.
  • In a large bowl, mix together brussels sprouts, 2 Tbsp. olive oil, salt and pepper. Gently stir until well-combined.
  • Prepare a baking sheet with aluminum foil, then spread the brussels sprouts on it evenly.  Roast for about 20-30 minutes, stirring once partway through, or until they are crispy on the outside and cooked on the inside.  Remove from oven and set aside.
  • Meanwhile, heat the remaining olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the sausage and cook, turning occasionally until nearly browned.  Add the garlic (or garlic powder in my case!), and continue cooking for another 1-2 minutes until the sausage is browned.
  • Cook the pasta according to the package directions. (I begin heating my water while preparing the brussels sprouts, and added the pasta to the boiling water just after beginning to cook the sausage.)  Once the pasta is cooked, drain the water, and then toss together the pasta, pesto, sausage, and brussels sprouts.
  • Serve warm, and sprinkle with freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

IMG_20140401_172242

IMG_20140401_172607

IMG_20140401_173148

 IMG_20140401_175446

FINAL THOUGHTS/TIPS

  • Next time, I would stick with the orecchiette pasta, as the bow-tie pasta seemed to overwhelm my sausage and brussels sprouts.
    • I therefore had to use a lil’ extra pesto to ensure all the pasta was coated.
  • I would use more than my 1/2 sausage link.  I actually just had some leftover that I thought would be enough…but it was still good!
  • The hubby said he could use a tad more seasoning on the brussels sprouts.  I agree.
  • With a family of two, there was plenty of leftovers!  And I can’t wait to dig into it for lunch tomorrow!

ENJOY!IMG_20140401_175724

Have you ever tried a Pinterest-inspired meal?  How did it turn out??

Jen

6 thoughts on “Good Eats: Pesto Pasta with Sausage & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Hi Jen! This looks good, I’m going to try it. I’m always trying something from Pinterest…tonight it was Sweet and Spicy Bacon Chicken. I need to make it spicier next time, but it was yummy! It’s on my recipe board if you want to try it.

  2. That recipe looks yummy and easy! I always like to find other Pinterest recipes that ppl have tried, so I know they aren’t terrible! Haha

  3. OMG! This looks sooo good! And to top it all off, I have all the ingredients at home yay! I’ll ask my hubby to make it tonight (yup, you heard that right, he can cook ahahaha!). Thanks for sharing.

    xoxo
    Olena

Leave a Reply

