Calgary Half Training: Weeks 7 & 8

Week 7 was…well…unique.  We had 20 miles scheduled for the week….but ended up using the week as a swing week.  We felt that after a strong 6 weeks straight, our bodies could use a lil’ rest, not to mention the fact that we were spending the long weekend in Canmore as a getaway.  I did get in a quick 3 miles on Thursday before we left…but the weekend was totally devoted to trying Canadian outdoor experiences, such as cross-country skiing and snowshoeing!  We ended up spending 3.5 hours, and roughly 18km on x-country trails on Friday.  Let me tell you…I had NO idea just how much of a workout it would be!!!  We were literally exhausted…but in a good way.  Then, to top it off, we spent another few hours trekking the mountains in snowshoes on Saturday!!!  Needless to say, Sunday was spent  resting our weary bones. 

IMG_20140328_114212

And we're off!

And we’re off!

Week 8 is in the books!  And…we finally got in our long run OUTSIDE! 

CalgaryHalf8

 

Not a stellar week, but not too bad either.  After a good resting week, the hubby and were itching to get in some miles, so we hopped on the treadmill for a quickie 3 miles on Monday.  On Tuesday, April 1st, fellow blogger Crystal kicked off a “2K a Day to Canada Day” (walking or running).  I originally chose a running streak (1.25 Miles = 2K) – but that effort was quickly squashed the next day, when I only walked.  So now I’m continuing on the 2K a Day streak, but with walking, since I seem to have no problem doing that on a daily basis 🙂  I walked to work Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.  The weather was on the rise…leading us to a BEAUTIFUL weekend.  After running a bunch of errands on Saturday, the hubby and I just stopped by the office gym to do a quick 3 miles, just to get the legs moving, before our schedule long run on Sunday.

Speaking of Sunday!!!  We finally got a chance to do our long run OUTDOORS!  You may remember from Week 6 that I ran my first 8-miler on the dreadmill treadmill.  So needless to say, I was STOKED to have 40* F (10*C) as my outdoor playground.  The hubby and I are still using the Eau Claire running paths as our long-distance routes because scenery and time seem to pass quickly, there are plenty of other runners around, and it’s so serene along the river!  I had a stupid case of nerves before the run…psyching myself out that I wouldn’t be able to keep up with the hubby…afraid that my new shoes would not hold up outside…and all sorts of other silly thoughts.  It’s been a while since I’ve had a really negative run…so I guess it was due.  I had a decent 9:00/mile pace for the first two miles…then I just slipped back…to a 9:20/9:30 pace for the rest of the miles.  I know it’s not a huge deal…and I know that I was at least consistent with that pace…but I was so mad at myself.  I wanted to quit about 10,000 times.  And every mile seemed to equal 10 miles in my mind.  It was torture.  The hubby was amazing and kept his ~9:00/mile pace…butI just couldn’t get into a rhythm.  *sigh*  We found that if we ran to the *next* bridge over from our normal route, we could squeeze in a 5.5 mile loop…and then finish up with our normal 3.5 route for a total of 9 miles. 

{ Weekly Lesson }

Looking back on it…I shouldn’t have beat myself up so bad…as all of my long runs on the treadmill have been at that pace.  Should I really have expected a miracle run just because I was running on pavement, with fresh air, and vitamin D shining on my face?!  *sigh*  If I want to run faster, I’m going to have to train faster.

Here’s to putting my BEST FOOT forward in the coming weeks.  As for today, I’m linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday 🙂  

bestfoot-this-week-link-up

8 Weeks to Go!

I’ve Committed Post HERE
Week 1 Recap HERE
Week 2 Recap HERE
Week 3 Recap HERE
Week 4 Recap HERE
Week 5 Recap HERE
Week 6 Recap HERE

Jen

12 thoughts on “Calgary Half Training: Weeks 7 & 8

  1. We are on the same path here. I was really frustrated with my long run, thinking I could go quicker than I was. Let’s meet in the middle and get our long runs done together!

  2. I always enjoy your recaps because you put SO much heart into them!! I love the pictures and love the realization you came to- that you shouldn’t have beaten yourself up so much about the run. Best foot forwards always!! I love your attitude!! XOXO!! 🙂

    • Why, hello!!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Agreed….I’m now a HUGE fan of snowshoeing. Who thought tromping around in the snow with super large shoes would be fun?! haha. Hmm…my winter vs. yours…I’m thinking you win. But…you can always travel and make the most of the weekends 🙂

Leave a Reply

