Thinking Out Loud: April 10th

Hello friends!  I am joining Amanda at Running with Spoons for her “Thursdays are for…Thinking Out Loud” series.  What’s in it for me?  A brain dump.  What’s in it for you?  Total randomness!  Enjoy!

TOL

Calgary Zoo.  Unlike most elevator small talk, the lady who shared my intimate space today asked if I had any weekend plans.  “Nope – just relaxing!”  Then I returned the question, and got a nice little speech about how this would be the last weekend for the Elephants in the zoo, as they were being moved to Washington, DC because they needed more space.  *GASP* I want to go see the elephants!!!!  I looked it up online..and although I’m sad they are leaving…I’m sort of loving their story: “This Spring, Kamala, Swarna and Maharani will head to the Smithsonian’s National Zoo.  They will be reunited with a couple of elephants that two of them lived with at an orphanage in Sri Lanka more than 30 years ago.”  Sweet, right?

Friends.  We have some friends scheduled to come visit us in July (Stampede!)…and I am OVER THE MOON excited!!!  I pride myself on being independent and open to change and loving international life….but there was just *something* about Louisiana that felt more like home than any other place we’ve been assigned.  The culture, the food, the music, the people…the people we met were just amazing.  And I miss them.  So, again, I’m excited.

Reading.  I’m finally catching up on some reading!!!  After taking way too long on my first ever David Baldacci novel, I flew through Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) in two days!  And I absolutely cannot put down my current read, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  There’s an incredible sadness that surrounds it…but it’s also amazing and intoxicating at the same time…

Cartoons.  My hubby will vehemently deny this…but we watched not one, but TWO, cartoons this weekend: 1) The Lion King – because we were feeling crabby and it’s one of our favorites!  and 2) Epic – because it’s a new one that I haven’t seen yet.  And watching cartoons makes me giddy like a child…anyone else???

Travel.  I *may* have an amazing opportunity to travel to a far-away country for work…but I’m trying desperately not to over think it.  Once I have more details, you KNOW I will spill my guts and make all kinds of destination bucket lists 🙂

Acupuncture.  I was talking to my mother last week about solutions to her migraines (she gets them quite often) – and the latest push from her doctor is to try acupuncture.  I was quite shocked this was a path he suggested…and to be honest…a lil’ bit jealous, cause y’all know it’s on my life list to try.  I never thought mom would go for it…but to my surprise…she told me that she went to the office and requested an appointment.  The doc ended up turning her away, because he recommends seeing his patients WHILE they are experiencing a migraine.  So, although I do not wish another migraine on her, I can’t wait to find out how the experience goes!!!  Interesting facts he shared with her: Only 20% of patients have success with accupuncture…and only 20-40% more have “some” success.  The odds are NOT in your favor.

Divergent.  The hubby and I finally went to see Divergent this past weekend…and I was pretty satisfied with how the adaptation is, closely following the original story by Veronica Roth.   The hubby asked before the movie started, “I hope I understand what’s going on since I haven’t read the book.”  (He says this because he felt like he missed a bit of Hunger Games…)  In fact, aside from condensing a few characters and plot points, I felt the movie captured the message about what it means to be brave, and also the idea of fear and what it means to control people.  So what is Divergent, the book, really all about?  Tris, the main character of the series, longs to find out where she belongs in a society that prides itself on five factions representing selflessness, bravery, intelligence, honesty, and kindness. 

April 15th Deadline.  Nothing like waiting until the last minute….I filed our taxes today.  Last year I filed on April 2nd…I’m slacking.

This video.  It’s amazing how quickly I can relate to Canadian weather humor.  Although it’s been enjoyable this week…I feel like it’s just a carrot dangling in front of me…  Enjoy.

 

 What’s on your mind?

Jen

4 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: April 10th

  1. I felt the same way about The Fault In Our Stars — I ended up losing so much sleep because I literally couldn’t put it down. I’m curious to see how it translates to the big screen! And speaking of which… I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Divergent. I haven’t managed to see it yet, but I never have high hopes for movie adaptations — I prefer the pictures I get in my head when I read the books 🙂

    PS – yes to ALL cartoons… especially Disney.

Leave a Reply

