Thinking Out Loud: April 17th

Hello friends!  I am joining Amanda at Running with Spoons for her “Thursdays are for…Thinking Out Loud” series.  What’s in it for me?  A brain dump.  What’s in it for you?  Total randomness!  Enjoy!

TOL

The Numbers Game.  I’ve been trying very hard to integrate myself into Canadian culture – including converting to kilometres, litres, and degrees Celsius.  Kilometres is fairly easy for me, since I ran track and cross-country in high school.  I quickly relate everything to 800 metres (0.5M) or 1600 metres (1 Mile) or a 5K (3.1M), 10K (6.2M), etc.  The hardest part to get used to is driving and seeing a “100” max speed limit sign!   I have to seriously remind myself that’s NOT 100 mph.  Gallons vs. Litres – forget it.  I just don’t think in litres.  I just pay what the pump tells me to pay to fill up.  Although…I like knowing that a bottle of water is a solid, round, even 500 mL and not 16.9 oz.  Temperature, however, is constantly messing me up!!!  It’s not that it’s super hard to convert in your head, it’s just that living 30 years with one model tends to mess with how you process.  I keep mixing it up.  I’ll spurt out numbers like it’s “10 Degrees”…and my hubby looks at me and says, “Farenheit or Celsius – cause that’s either really cold, or really comfortable!”  10*F equals MINUS 12*C, while 10*C  equals 50*F.  Quick tip the hubby taught me to convert (approximately) in my head:

C to F: Multiply the temperature by 2 and then add 30 (actual formula is to multiply by 1.8, add 32)
Ex: 22 C is roughly equal to 74 degrees using his method, actual conversion is 71.6
F to C: Now just work the equation backwards, subtract 30 from the temperature, and then divide by 2 (again, actual formula constants are 1.8 and 32)

Do Canadians feel like flustered when they travel to America???  Which also gets me to thinking….why is the US still on a different system?

Marathons. To be honest, I’ve never considered…or even WANTED…to run a marathon (26.2 Miles).  But then I saw Amanda’s blog post HERE and Dorothy’s blog post HERE – advertising that Saucony, and 26 marathon “vets” are searching for first-time marathoners…and I had this *itty, bitty, teeny, tiny* thought….that if I still lived in the US, I would probably submit my name as a candidate.  Am I crazy?!  It’s a good thing I’m not eligible…because I really do LOVE the half marathon distance…and don’t see myself trying to double that in the near future.

Fall Half.  I love traveling, and I love running.  So I’ve been trying to find an “additional” excuse to travel home this fall to see family…and that is to run a new state for my Half the States challenge.  I searched Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Maryland (since I ran West Virginia last year!) from July through September…and I thought I had found a winner.  My grandparents recently moved from Valdosta, Georgia to Dayton, Ohio – and it’s been a bit since I’ve seen them – and it’s only 3.5 hours from my hometown – and I stumbled across the Air Force Marathon & Half Marathon held on September 20, 2014 in Dayton, OH.  The best part…my grandpa is retired Air Force!!!  But less than a week after I discovered this race…I checked the site and the Half is completely sold out!  *womp, womp.*  Off to search for another race.  Any recommendations from my bloggers & readers in that area?!  An alternative is that I can travel to Washington, Montana, or North Dakota.  Anyone?  Race Ideas??

Life Abroad & Keeping in Touch.  I was chatting with my unofficial mentor Tuesday morning, and we somehow weaved our conversation towards the following touchy topics: husbands on the rise, international lifestyle, and long-term friendships.  I suppose it was a natural topic to come up at some point as we both have husbands in upper management, we both are “dual-career” company couples (meaning both husband & wife work for same company), and we both have international future jobs – meaning that to continue moving up, we will continue to move around!  Although she is only 15 years older than me…I felt like the situations and experiences she’d been a part of described me TO A  T.  Until she mentioned friends.  She made a comment something like, “You will begin to realize your true friends are the ones who make an effort to continue the relationship after you have moved on…away from the business unit…out of the country.  They are the ones who will continue to email/write/call – come to you for advise – just say hello – send you updates now and again.  You will have fun while on assignment…attend many dinners and parties…but of the 100s you meet and hang out with during the 2-3 years, you might come away with 2-3 true friends.”  And I’m not 100% sure how I feel about that statement.   On the one hand…doesn’t it take an effort on my part, too, to stay in touch with those I’ve left behind?  Isn’t that a true statement of life in general…that you have many acquaintances and few friends?  On the other hand…and I can count on that one hand…what she said has been true for the four months that I’ve lived in Canada.  There are only a handful of people who have continued to write – asked to visit – ask for updates and pictures – or share their days with me.  Does that make my experience in my last location any less “real” – or is that just a fact of life?  Or is it a personality thing???  Those who are outgoing and crave social awareness might be more apt to continue those relationships?  Whereas someone like myself is comfortable with a few “near and dear.”  Thoughts?  Anyone agree or disagree (from experience) with her statement?

Reading.  I’ve been on quite the reading binge over the last few weeks, which is a good thing since I literally didn’t have the time to pick up a book in the previous few months!  And although there are lots of books that I *like* and enjoy reading….I’ve found that there are few that I actually love.  You know the ones I’m talking about…the ones that stick with you for years, that open your eyes to something new, whose words just have that PULL from the author.  I wish there was a site that helped you pick your new book based on ones that you’ve loved before.  I was once directed to whatshouldireadnext.com – but it didn’t quite hit the mark.  A lot of sites try to “recommend” what you might like based on what you’ve read…Amazon, Goodreads…but I wish there was a magic formula that captured the essence of the words that captivate you.  Does that even make sense???

Blog Love.  I’ve slowly been working on revamping my blog…and I would LOVE your input!!!  Do I go back to my roots and post more daydreams…do I need to sign-up for more races and write reviews…do I need to finally learn how to cook…do I need to detail more about my experience in Canada…should I bring back the more detailed Book Reviews…?!?!?!  What topics would you like to see more of?

This video.  An amazing message in this short 3-minute video from a Thai insurance company titled “Unsung Hero.”  I love it all…the laugh of the vendor cart lady…the old lady’s hug…the shy, yet grateful, school girl…the unrelenting dog…and the phrase “He witnesses happiness.”

 What’s on your mind?

Jen

15 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: April 17th

  1. Oh man, my response is going to be long… 🙂

    Life Abroad and Keep in Touch: Even though I haven’t seen you in a few years, I can’t wait to come visit you in Canada!! I love our friendship: how when we see each other, we pick up right where we left off. 🙂

    Marathon: Go for it! 🙂 If you want, I’ll ride my bike alongside the path and will attach a little buggy on the back, so that if you want to stop and ride the rest of the way, I will take you! I will even have a bottle of wine with your name on it waiting for you!

    Reading: I’m actually going through a little break with reading. It sucks when you don’t have any time to commit yourself to a good book. I can’t wait to get back into it once things settle down a bit.

    Blog: Yes, yes, and yes! Blog about all of those things, I love it! I also really love reading “A Day in the Life” or “What I Ate Wednesday” posts.

    Whats on my mind?: Life is so crazy right now (leaving for Italy tomorrow, interviewing for new jobs, becoming a yoga instructor, moving this summer), and I’m very proud of myself for staying calm in the midst of the storm. It’s a fun storm, though, but a bit overwhelming. 🙂

    • Miss KT – you are one of my FOREVER friends. “Me Love You Long Time!” Ditto the comment that we can always pick up where we left off…like there was never any time between us 🙂 Oh – thanks for the idea on the “A Day in the Life” post…I love those too!!!!

      PS – I’m so super jealous that you are in Italy right now…but also so very happy for you!!! I better be one of the first people you call when you officially become a yoga instructor!!!! We can celebrate virtually!

  2. 1. I definitely struggle with the temperature when talking with our Canadian Rep, I’m not sure I’ll ever get it figured out!
    2. Yes, you should run a marathon! It’s one of the absolute best experiences of my life. And you may even get roped in like me, and train for another one! Wineglass Marathon in NY is still open, and tons of wine!
    3. I love the fall half marathons in Ohio! Here’s a few to check out….River Run Half Marathon, Akron Half Marathon, Rock’n’Roll Cleveland Half, Towpath Half Marathon, Columbus Half Marathon, I’ve run three of the five. Plus there are some smaller ones in the area as well.

    • Oh la la…thanks for the half suggestions in Ohio!!! I need to look into those ASAP! When I make a decision, I’m telling you immediately in case it’s close to you and we can FINALLY meet up!!! And hmm….I see what you are doing…appealing to my love of wine in order to get me to sign up for a marathon…are you sure we aren’t besties in the real world?! 🙂

      • Yes, that is in fact the plan! Any race I can drive to in Ohio sounds good to me.
        Well, it’s a good race, and they have a half option so you can even do a little running and a lot of drinking! We very well could be!

  3. I’m doing the numbers game in reverse. I’ve moved to the US and I’m making a point of trying to learn everything in their units. I feel like I’m good with pounds and inches, but I struggle with gallons and calculating cold temperatures. Good luck to you!

    • HAHA – this made me chuckle out loud. Maybe one day the US will get with the rest of the world and then you and I won’t have that “struggle” face while converting 🙂 Good luck to you as well!!! Send me a note if you ever need to vent or want to compare notes!

  4. Oh, I don’t think you’re crazy at all for (possibly) wanting to run a marathon!! I think it’s pretty awesome that you’ve thought about it!! XOXO!!!

    • HAHA – I’ve thought out for about…half a second. Does that count?! If I’m being honest though, I’d really rather keep focusing on the half marathon…it’s my true love…and I really, really, really want to keep chopping down my time. Maybe one day I’ll reach times similar to you 🙂 You’re such an inspiration!

      • Ohhh my gosh, THANKS!!! Much appreciated!!! You’re phenomenal at everything you do so…YES, YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL, SMART, FUNNY, SUPER RUNNER, SWEET, AND EVERYTHING ELSE!!
        XOXO!!!

  5. I’m pretty sure I’ll never figure out why Americans insist on operating under a different system, but I really wish they’d get with the program and switch over! I feel like I’m stuck somewhere in the middle. I use km and L for driving and buying liquids, but then lbs and inches for measuring. I’ll probably always think in celsius, though. The Fahrenheit scale just doesn’t make sense to me, although I’ve gotten a little more used to it since basically all the blogs I read use it.

    • Isn’t it crazy that it’s the same things that are confusing us…but in different systems? Maybe one day the US will get on the bandwagon…until then…my family and coworkers will just to have to nod their heads at me and wonder which measurement I chose to use for the day 🙂 I really need to be more cognizant of my readers…as I’ve tried connecting with more Canadian bloggers, I’m wondering if I should include both metrics (miles/kilometres, *F/*C)?

  6. ohhhh if the ember is there it’s going to grow and you’ll be announcing a marathon before we know it! I would be awful at converting everything and I”m pretty sure I’d be saying the temperature was boiling and getting speeding tickets 🙂

  7. Life Abroad: As a Canadian who travels to America: the speed limit thing drives me crazy, the gallons/litres not so much, the temperature… well I try to post both on my blog and social media networks because the majority of my readers are American. I also freak out driving in the US cause I can’t figure out if its legal to turn right on a red light… is that nuts or just me? Also, I like pounds and inches, and despite the fact that we are supposed to not use them, I’ve used them since I was little.
    Marathon: yes! Train in the summer in Calgary unless you want to spend lots of time on the treadmill!
    Reading: I haven’t read anything except a textbook since January, please save me.
    Blog: I have read at total of like 5 posts but I like them all so far!
    On my mind? Being patient, blog ideas, being calm and nice with myself because I have such a busy life. Waiting for summer so I can finally get my butt moving again, and debating a half marathon.

Leave a Reply

