Good Eats: Skillet Gnocchi with Shrimp & Asparagus

Hello friends!  I attempted another Pinterest-inspired meal last week…and it was…just ok.  There are a few things that I would change if I were to make it again.  Original recipe HERE – my adaptations in blue below.

INSPIRATION

PinterestMeal2

via: Eating Well

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 16-ounce package shelf-stable gnocchi
  • 1/2 cup sliced shallots  <– I did not use this
  • 1 bunch asparagus (about 1 pound), trimmed and cut into thirds
  • 3/4 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 pound raw shrimp (26-30 per pound), peeled and deveined, tails left on if desired <– I always remove the tails
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice <– I did not use this
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

IMG_20140409_171734

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium heat.
  2. Add gnocchi and cook, stirring often, until plumped and golden in spots, 6 to 10 minutes.  Transfer to a bowl.
  3. Add the remaining 2 teaspoons oil and shallots to the pan; cook over medium heat, stirring, until beginning to brown, 1 to 2 minutes.  <– I simply skipped this step.
  4. Stir in asparagus and broth. Cover and cook until the asparagus is barely tender, 3 to 4 minutes.
  5. Add shrimp, pepper and salt; cover and simmer until the shrimp is pink and just cooked through, 3 to 4 minutes more.
  6. Return the gnocchi to the skillet along with lemon juice and cook, stirring, until heated through, about 2 minutes.
  7. Remove from the heat, sprinkle with cheese, cover and let stand until the cheese is melted, about 2 minutes.
Cooked Gnocchi

Cooked Gnocchi

Asparagus & Broth

Asparagus & Broth

Add Shrimp, Pepper, Salt

Add Shrimp, Pepper, Salt

FINAL THOUGHTS/TIPS

  • I felt that the 3/4 cup of broth was a bit too much…it made the asparagus and gnocchi a bit “soggy” once all mixed together. 
    • Along those same lines…I think I would cook the asparagus without the broth, and add it back in (like the gnocchi) after the shrimp has been cooked.  I personally like my asparagus a lil’ on the crunchy side.
  • Next time, I will stick to the allotted amount of pepper.  I thought 1/4 teaspoon wasn’t enough, so I improvised and added a bit more…but the pepper flavor was WAY TOO MUCH.
  • It was actually the first time either of us have ever tried gnocchi, and even thought it was ok, the hubby suggested we try potatoes next time.  I agree. 
Viola!

Viola!

ENJOY!

Do you have a Pinterest-inspired meal that you have tried and loved?   Do Share!

Jen

4 thoughts on “Good Eats: Skillet Gnocchi with Shrimp & Asparagus

  1. Looks amazing. Gnocchi is super tricky to cook because it overcooks super fast and gets mushy. If your recooking it again like in this dish then you barely want to let them surface when you preboil them. I’m definitely going to try this dish!

Leave a Reply

