Calgary Half Training: Week 10

First of all, I want to say GOOD JOB to all the people who ran the Boston Marathon today and THANK YOU to all the supporters who went out to encourage and cheer! Near and far…we are all #BostonStrong!

And back to my neck of the woods…week 10 is in the books! It was another pretty consistent week of training, even without completing the full scheduled long run (5.25 miles vs. 10  miles).

CalgaryHalf10 
The hubby was in Houston for most of the week…so unfortunately for him, he only had a chance to run on Sunday.  We made the decision to cut-back on the long-run this week so that he would still be able to walk 🙂  Besides – it’s hard on the body to not run all week and then do a super-long run.  I’m still walking the mile to and from work each day…so that has been a really great morning and night shake-out for my legs!  I completed a solo run Tuesday night, 4.15 miles, as a small dedication to the anniversary of last year’s Boston Marathon (04.15.2013).  Due to a freak snowstorm on Friday, I ended up running a quick 5K on the treadmill at home.  I followed it up with the P90X Ab Ripper X workout….but could definitely tell my core is not as strong as it used to be!!!  I took my time, and only completed about 50-70% of each exercise set, but it still may have been too much – seeing as how I was super sore for the next two days.  Looks like I pretty much dropped the ball on 3 day a week ab workouts after the February Abs challenge ended.  Ooops.  The hubby had to work again for half a day on Saturday, so I went back down to the gym for another 5K, just to keep consistent mileage this week since I knew we would not be doing a long run.  Sunday’s weather was BEAUTIFUL, so we headed out to the river path and did a quick lil’ loop (+ a new bridge) around our normal route, making it just over 5 miles.  Not too shabby!

{ Scenes From My Runs }

04.15.2014 #BostonStrong

04.15.2014 #BostonStrong in Calgary

{ Weekly Lesson } 

Be kind to underused muscles.  Even if you consider yourself fit…you need to take it easy the first time around on any new exercise – aka – Ab Ripper X.  Even though I only completed 18-22 reps of each set of 25…the whole program was still A LOT more than my abs were used to…and I was quite sore for 2 days.  No-one needs or wants to feel that way…and it psychologically turns you off from wanting to continue that exercise.  To give yourself a fighting change, take it easy and listen to your body.  If you feel good the day after, then you can slowly increase your reps the next round.  For me, I completed 246 of 325 total ab exercises.  Looking back, I should have focused on completing 10-15 out of each set of 25, then slowly increase the reps as I continue the program.  Lesson learned. 

Here’s to putting my BEST FOOT forward in the coming weeks.  As for today, I’m linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday 🙂  

bestfoot-this-week-link-up

6 Weeks to Go!

I’ve Committed Post HERE
Week 1 Recap HERE
Week 2 Recap HERE
Week 3 Recap HERE
Week 4 Recap HERE
Week 5 Recap HERE
Week 6 Recap HERE
Week 7/8 Recap HERE
Week 9 Recap HERE

Jen

2 thoughts on “Calgary Half Training: Week 10

Leave a Reply

