Calgary Half Training: Week 11

Week 11 is in the books!

CalgaryHalf11

It was actually a pretty low-mileage week.  I keep telling myself, “Don’t worry, you can pick-up the mileage next week.”  Then next week comes around…and oops…another low-average week.  I decided to try some sprints on the dreadmill treadmill…and although it was ok…I have decided that I very much prefer sprinting NOT on a treadmill.  I completed two (2) rounds of 400 meters (0.25 miles) sprint at 7.6, then recovery jog at 6.0.  I was originally thinking of three (3) rounds…but decided not to push it too far since I haven’t sprinted since last fall!!!  I would like to try one speed workout a week going forward…and the tactic I have used in the past is to increase by one (1) set each week.  On Wednesday, I decided to hop on the stationary bike and get in just a few miles to loosen up my legs.  Thursday and Friday were rest days (Friday is only the second time since April 01 that I have had no activity…)  On Saturday, the hubby and I decided to do a light 2-mile shake-out run to get our legs moving, since it was his first run of the week.  Saturday was…well…disappointing.  Do you ever have one of those mornings where you wake up and JUST KNOW that you aren’t going to have a good run…if you are going to run at all???  Anyone?!  Really…it was that bad.  I had ZERO motivation…the weather was a cool 30*F…but I didn’t really want to run outside…or at all!  The hubby and I talked it out, and decided we would aim for between six and nine miles.  I thought I could at least do six.  Nope – Nada – Not feeling it.  I hopped on the treadmill and it felt like my minutes were literally hours.  It was torture.  So I forced myself to get to an even 2 miles, then moved over to the elliptical.  Nope – Nada – Really not feeling it.  By then, I knew the hubby had two more miles before his water break…so I decided to suck it up and get BACK ON the treadmill for another two miles.  Really, Really, Really.  Not feeling it.  I asked the hubby how he was feeling during the quick break…and he said he was actually doing ok.  I asked him how much further he thought he was gonna run and he said, “Don’t know yet…let’s see how I feel in a bit.”  Hmmph.  So I dragged myself back to the elliptical to finish out another 2 miles.  By then, it was almost like a Boredom Buster mental game in my head.  How many rounds can I complete?  When I hit two miles again…I really, really, really despised running another step.  So I looked around the gym…and viola…stationary bike.  I rode it for another 20 minutes until the hubby had finished his ELEVEN, yes…I said 11 miles.  Good job hubby!  Bad job Jen-Jen. 

{ Scenes From My Runs }

M.I.A. – Sorry folks…it was a week of no pics!!!

{ Weekly Lesson } 

Boredom Buster.  When you just aren’t feeling a prescribed workout…try something different: try a new piece of equipment, try rotating equipment, or even try multiple rounds with short timeframes.

{ Extra Tid-Bit! }

 I am now a proud member of Girls Gone Sporty!  I am an ambassador with Team STELLAR.  Check out my new badge on my sidebar!  Not unlike other fitness & health communities, Girls Gone Sporty is also a community that has SO many inspiring and motivating ladies, all with their own stories.  Here’s the tag line that GGS uses:

“Live the sporty life!” 
Women who work hard, play hard, compete and eat, all with the intention of being their best, most positive selves.
Studies have shown that: 1) healthy living is contagious, and 2) healthy living is not just about weight loss. While we recognize that achieving and maintaining a healthy weight is important, weight and appearance are not cornerstones of our belief system, and we want to encourage women everywhere to embrace whole health and an attitude of adventure – body, mind, spirit and lifestyle – right where they are now.

You can connect with Girls Gone Sporty here:
Website / Facebook Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest / YouTube

ggs logo

Here’s to putting my BEST FOOT forward in the coming weeks.  As for today, I’m linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot 🙂  

bestfoot-this-week-link-up

5 Weeks to Go!

I’ve Committed Post HERE
Week 1 Recap HERE
Week 2 Recap HERE
Week 3 Recap HERE
Week 4 Recap HERE
Week 5 Recap HERE
Week 6 Recap HERE
Week 7/8 Recap HERE
Week 9 Recap HERE
Week 10 Recap HERE

{ Donate to Charity }

Hello friends!  I have just over a month left before the Calgary Half Marathon!  I realized that I have YET to gather donations for my chosen charity – Autism Support Dogs.  Their mission:

Autism Support Dogs is a registered charity that provides professionally trained support dogs for families with an autistic child, at no cost to the family. The goal of our charity is to improve the quality of life of children with autism (ages 4-12) and their family by providing a trained autism support dog. We rely entirely on donations so that we can provide these dogs free of charge to families. It takes up to 2 years and costs our charity up to $35,000 to produce each autism support dog.

I have a fundraising goal of $100…so won’t you please, please, please help me – and these wonderful, beautiful dogs?  If 20 of you, my friends and readers and fellow bloggers, could each donate $5…I’ll be ready in no time!!!  Donate HERE!

ABguideDogs_Serge

Dylan and autism support dog Logan

Jen

6 thoughts on “Calgary Half Training: Week 11

    • Thanks Janelle! And thanks for stopping by 🙂 I also wish I had access to a track…I really think it would help put me in the right “frame of mind!” In my old neighborhood, I had a block route that was exactly 800 meters…so I would so 400 meter sprints to one corner…then jog back to the orther corner!!!

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award – Round 1! | Daydreams & Shoestrings

Leave a Reply

