Thinking Out Loud: May 1st

Hello friends!  I am joining Amanda at Running with Spoons for her “Thursdays are for…Thinking Out Loud” series.  What’s in it for me?  A brain dump.  What’s in it for you?  Total randomness!  Enjoy!

TOL

St. John’s Newfoundland. The hubby comes home tomorrow from his week-long trip to St. John’s.  He has been entertaining me all week by sending random pictures from the far, far, far East.  As in…the time difference is 3.5 hours.  Yes, it’s so far there is an additional 30 minutes.  🙂  The best pic is the first one he sent me…from when he first arrived at the hotel, and then called to say, “I knew you would want to see this place so I sent you a pic!”  How does that boy always know what I’m thinking?!  Can you imagine this view on a bright, sunny day?!  Amazing!

04.28

1,330. The number of calories in four Hard Shell Beef Tacos and a small Mexi Fries from Taco Time.  Boy, when I’m craving some fast food….I really knock it out of the park. Haha.

My weakness is Sushi.  After an awesome workout Tuesday night, I was inspired to grab some take-out from the sushi joint just down the street.  I ended up with Miso Soup, Seaweed Salad, and a Rainbow Roll (salmon, tuna, shrimp, and avocado…oh my!)  It was utterly delish.  This is the third time I’ve been to this place in two months…and I have YET to have  meal that disappoints! (Bonus points if you noticed lil’ Mario trying to sniff out my treasure!!!)

IMG_20140429_194019

Mr. Mario Loves Sushi.  Surprised?  Anyone?!  He kept creeping up…closer and closer and closer…until his lil nose was about 1/2 inch away from my food.  I was laughing so hard!!!  No – I didn’t let him eat from my box – I just gave him lil’ pieces of salmon and tuna and shrimp!  Yes, I know….I have no boundaries with my pet.  Sorry I’m not sorry.

IMG_20140429_194817

Calgarian Weather Makes My Head Spin.  This week’s weather has been absolutely fabulous…as in…I’m wearing shorts and tanks to run in…no jacket while walking to work at 7am….leaving the balcony doors open until 10 pm just soaking it all in…  And then I open up my weather app to plan for this weekend’s long run…and BAM.  *Snow*  All. Weekend. Long.

Screenshot_2014-05-01-15-18-41          Screenshot_2014-05-01-15-18-52

Pleasant Surprises. As I was running after work yesterday, a biker whizzed by me calling my name.  Come to find out, it’s my friend and co-worker, who was also on her way home.  She hopped off her bike and I stopped my RunKeeper, and we got to chatting.  She asked if it was ok to walk with me a bit – and I was like – HECK YES…I could use a breather!  We ended up walking the entire length to my planned turnaround and her turn-off…a solid 1.3 miles.  It was quite lovely. 

Phantom Voices in my Phone.  Seriously.  A friend called and asked me to join her and her hubby for dinner last night, and as I was saying goodbye and reaching down to touch the “End” button, I heard a voice.  Thinking that I accidentally cut off my friend, I immediately called her back and asked, and she said, “Nope…I already said bye and hung up!”  Ok then….I laughed and said, “I must be hearing things!” and went to hang up again…and I heard it…again.  I would swear that it said “Jenny” twice – which just CREEPED. ME. OUT. because that is what I went by growing up and in High School.  I quickly hung-up and checked my call log, JUST IN CASE it was one of those super weird instances where one person calls in as another hangs up and you are instantly connected….I thought it could be my mother.  But…nope.  *Cue the creepy music.*

My Bestie Inspires Me.  Before Tuesday’s run, I was texting back and forth with my bestie, Jenna, who I left behind in New Orleans.  She mentioned that she was working on her Summer/Fall race schedule.  And my thoughts were instantly exploding with motivation in the form of seeing Races highlighted in my Excel running log!  The best part (which makes me miss her even more!) was her closing statement: “We all know the motivating effects of schedules 😉 maybe you need a spreadsheet too!”  She always knows what I’m thinking.

 What’s on your mind?

Jen

16 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: May 1st

  1. Haha oh boy 70 one day and snowing the next? Sounds like Chicago! :/ Also, I am totally eating sushi as I right this! Yum yum yum

    • I know, right?! It’s a “personal” inspiration…makes you want it a lil’ bit more 🙂 1) Thanks for stopping by, and 2) WOO-HOO!!! Thanks for the nomination!!! I’m off to stalk your post to learn even more about you… *insert evil laugh here* hehe

  2. Great thursday dump! Also –> welcome to the lovely world of Canadian weather. We have a similar heat wave right now and are probably like a 8 hr drive apart and it will be raining and 13 this weekend for us and snowing for you. Random, right?

    • Hey lady!!! Totally random…again…literally makes my head spin!!! Just as I put my coat and boots in the *very back* of the closet…I have to go dig them out again! haha. But, as it’s my first Canadaian winter, I’m not truly annoyed yet…it’s kinda fun. Does that make me crazy?!

      • Nope that makes you new to Canadian winters!! I wouldn’t put the coats and boots back there until at least June 1st 🙂
        I hope you enjoy your snowy weather!

  3. I love your Thinking Out Loud posts!! 🙂 And I love sushi, too! Esp seaweed salad! Yum. 🙂 (PS I also give little nibbles of food to my cat… and I can’t believe I’m going to admit this, but sometimes I’ll let her lick it and then I’ll eat it – this got weird fast). 😉

    • Seriously!!! Seaweed salad is AWESOME!!!! And I KNEW you gave food to your kitty – they are just too cute not to indulge!!! OMG – I love it when you say super weird things that totally make sense…it makes me miss you THIS MUCH!!!!

  4. I’ve never been to eastern Canada, but I would seriously love to go. Looks like a completely different world. And PLEASE don’t even get me started on our weather here in Alberta. We hit 23 just a few days ago, and this weekend? Wet snow. Is it seriously May? Because it feels like March…

    • Agreed!!! But like mentioned to another blogger…even though it makes my head spin, I’m not yet annoyed. Probably just the allure of actually having snow after almost 10 years without out…seeing it still makes me giggle like a school girl!

Leave a Reply

