Thinking Out Loud: May 8th

Hello friends!  I am joining Amanda at Running with Spoons for her “Thursdays are for…Thinking Out Loud” series.  What’s in it for me?  A brain dump.  What’s in it for you?  Total randomness!  Enjoy!

TOL

7-Year Anniversary Trip.  Each year, the hubby and I pick a unique location to travel to for our anniversary (Lake Tahoe, Flagstaff, Orlando, New York City, Mexican Cruise, Dominican Republic)  So that’s right folks…we’ve finally landed on a location for this year’s trip – St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada!  And let the planning begin….  Whale watching, Puffins!, watching icebergs float by, visiting Cape Spear and standing on the last piece of land before Europe and the most eastern point of North America, getting “Screeched In!”, eating Cod’s tongue, drinking Iceberg beer…  I’ve already started my spreadsheet 😉  Should I tell the hubby that I found a half marathon race that weekend…….

Do you have any recommendations for me?!?!?  Please share!

Atlantic Puffin

Atlantic Puffin

PB&J. I had a peanut butter & jelly sandwich for dinner last night.  With a side (or two) of chips.  I don’t know where my motivation went this week…but it’s like it literally takes all my energy to plan dinners.  Sorry hubby. 

NEXUS Interview.  5 months ago, the hubby and I applied online to get our NEXUS card – which expedites entry across the US/Canada border for frequent travelers.  We go for our interviews tomorrow morning!!!  Cross your fingers we both get approved!

Stampede Tickets. Our company is a sponsor of the Calgary Stampede, and we got our first email this morning in order to RSVP for tickets to Dinner and Chuckwagon races on Friday, July 11th.  Oh, yeah!  AND LESS THAN TWO MONTHS BEFORE OUR FRIENDS COME TO VISIT!!!

My AWESOME followers!  I want to send a HUGE thank you to all my readers out there….as last week I just hit the 300 blog followers milestone!  It is so exciting – and humbling!!!  I never thought this blog would see a world beyond my family and close friends  – who are basically forced to read since I don’t give them life updates any other way – haha!  But the blogging community and fitness world has brought so many wonderful people into my “virtual” life – and I’m so thankful for the comments and blog love coming my way!!!

Does being 30 make me old – or mature?!  I went to a “non-work” work function a couple of weeks ago and met some fun people “my age” (a.k.a. the group typically caters to those in their 20s, 30s, and 40s).  As the night wore on, I introduced myself to a young girl, and she told me her name – which I thought was “Alice.”  I said, “Nice to meet you Alice – what group do you work in?”  And she replied back, “Not Alice.  Al-ex.  Like Sex.  Only not.”  Huh.  Not exactly the way I would introduce myself with that name….but I guess it works for her…  Does that make me sound old when I say her introduction made me cringe?!

Planks. Squats. Push-Ups.  Sometime last week I came across some 30-day plans for targeted muscle groups on Pinterest.  I pinned them all because I always have these grand visions of introducing “Strength + Abs” into my weekly routines, but quickly fall off the wagon.  Then I started thinking about it…really thinking about it…and dedcided to create my own 30-day plan to fit me.  I didn’t want to do anything super crazy – like tons of arms/abs and be sore for my runs.  So I thought I would focus on Plank, Squats, and Modified Push-ups.  My target in 30 days is to be able to comfortably hold a 90 sec plank, complete 200 squats, and do 40 modified push-ups.  (I got so excited about my plan that I started developing it out for the following months….leading up to 15 “real” push-ups in 2 months and a 5 minute plank in 4 months…but we will see what ONE months get us first!)  Once I make it to July 4th, I will post my full schedule vs. actual.  I’m sure you can’t wait…

Scorpion Pizza. I was texted this picture from my father-in-law earlier in the week and it TOTALLY creeped me out.  Tell me this isn’t real?!?!?!?  Yep…I looked it up.  Scorpion Pizza – one of 32 Delicious New Midway Foods for 2014!  List HERE.  Yah…not exactly for me.  But what I DO want to try – a Bacon-wrapped hot dog.  Ay-yi-yi!!!

scorpion-pizza

 What’s on your mind?

Jen

4 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: May 8th

  1. Ahhhhh, I’m scared of that piece of pizza!!! SO scary!! OMG, I think I’d be a little confused by that name introduction and you’re awesome! So glad I’m following your blog!! XOXO!!!

  2. Ewww scorpion pizza? Yeah, I don’t think I’ll be trying that one anytime soon. Looks adventurous though! 🙂

    I always wonder if being 30 makes me old. Although, I never really enjoyed partying late into the night, so I finally feel like it’s OK not to want to do that now. Most of my friends have kids and only want to do things during normal daytime hours, which is A-OK with me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

