Calgary Half Training: Week 13

Week 13 is in the books!  We are officially three weeks away from the 50th Anniversary of the Calgary Marathon & Half Marathon – and our first Canadian Half Marathon!!!

CalgaryHalf13

 

Another weekend has come and gone!  The days are literally flying by…and to be honest…I had my first real doubt this weekend about running a good half marathon.  My training has been inconsistent and this weekend was my only my third “long” run (9 miles each) to date…and I can’t help but to compare how utterly different my training felt for the Gulf Coast Half last October.  I was talking to Nick about it on Sunday…and he asked simply, “You aren’t running this race to PR, are you?”  Hmm….how to answer that?!  I feel like every race I want to PR…but I know that realistically, that rarely happens.  But still….I want to run a GOOD race…I don’t want to lose my confidence mid-racer or un out of gas at mile 11. 

So, of course, I updated my handy-dandy spreadsheet to compare last summer/fall training schedule to this training cycle…and was actually surprised.  The mileage is nearly there – even if the consistency in my weekly runs is not.  Perhaps my weekly goal of 20+ miles was a bit of a stretch, and not reaching that number week after week makes me feel like I’m not doing enough… I think I need to just keep doing what I’m doing…and keep trying to get in a few runs throughout the week…and aim to complete my long runs over the next two weekends…  And I think I’m gonna be ok

2013RunLog1

2014RunLogApril

I’m still walking to work every day – which is a fabulous way to get the day started!  As mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve created my own 30-day schedule of plank, squats, and push-ups, so you will see those intermixed with my daily workouts.  I didn’t get in a run until Thursday…but the day was absolutely GORGEOUS – and I just couldn’t NOT run outside!  I was planning a solid 4 miles (out and back), but once I hit the turn-around bridge, I decided to cross it to the other side and keep on running!  Although I did hit two rough patches of ongoing construction, the annoyances didn’t alter my running mood…so I continued to run!  I went all-the-way down to the furthest east bridge I’ve run to, and circled back to my starting point – a total of 6.1 miles.  My pace was pretty consistent, so I was quite pleased!  On Saturday, the hubby and I decided to double-walk on the treadmills, as it was a nasty rain in the afternoon.  Although the hubby didn’t get a chance to run all week, he wanted to save his “energy” for the long run on Sunday – so we agreed that a 3 mile walk was the best route for us.

On Sunday, we took the recommendation from a friend to run at the Glenmore Reservoir – a total length of 15 km (~9 miles).   I don’t exactly know why, but in my head, I was envisioning a reservoir to be “flat.”  Let me tell you…this was NOT the case.  There were large hills, rolling hills, endless uphills….but it was still a fabulous run.  I probably should have researched the area a bit more…but when we arrived early Sunday morning, the trails had a few runners here and there (along with lots of people walking their dogs!) – so we knew it was a 50-50 chance in which direction to run.  We chose to run counter-clockwise from our starting point, and was AMAZED at the view!!!  Water – trees – mountains – tree covered paths – dirt trails – people – bikers – dogs – neighborhoods – isolated pathways….absolutely awesome place to run!  And if you’re having a good day…then you are really just in the zone and enjoying the path for all it has to offer. 

{ Additional Workouts }

MaliBooty from Tone It Up Bikini Series (video HERE).  Let me tell you…this is one heck of a workout!!!  I could feel the slow burn as the workout progressed.  But what I loved was that this workout did not make me sore…it just felt like my glutes were tighter – I loved it!  I completed the workout twice…thinking I would certainly be sore if I tried for three times through!

Sunkissed Abs from Tone It Up Bikini Series (video HERE)  I followed up the MaiBooty workout with a round of Sunkissed Abs.  Also a pretty tough workout.  I liked following along with the video, for I would surely be a bit slower if I did the moves on my own.

Planks.  I’m on my own 30-day quest to hold a 1.5 minute plank.

Malibooty

Sunkissed ABs

Plank1-5

{ Scenes From My Runs }

Photos from Sunday’s run around the Glenmore Reservoir in Calgary.

First view of the Reservoir

First view of the Reservoir

Running Path along Reservoir

Running Path along Reservoir

Amazing view of Mountains!!!

Amazing view of Mountains!!!

Beautiful Day for an Outdoor Run!

Beautiful Day for an Outdoor Run!

{ Weekly Lesson } 

Look at the Big Picture.  Sometimes, it’s all to easy to get lost in the details.  What can seem like small, individual failures, may not be ultimately affect the larger goal.  Missing my “scheduled” weekly mileage goal for this training cycle made me feel like I’ve been failing at my total training cycle; in reality, my mileage is nearly equivalent to total monthly mileage I was completing last training cycle.

Here’s to putting my BEST FOOT forward in the coming weeks.  As for today, I’m linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot 🙂  

bestfoot-this-week-link-up

3 Weeks to Go!

I’ve Committed Post HERE
Week 1 Recap HERE
Week 2 Recap HERE
Week 3 Recap HERE
Week 4 Recap HERE
Week 5 Recap HERE
Week 6 Recap HERE
Week 7/8 Recap HERE
Week 9 Recap HERE
Week 10 Recap HERE
Week 11 Recap HERE
Week 12 Recap HERE

{ Donate to Charity }

Hello friends!  I have just under a month left before the Calgary Half Marathon!  Many thanks to Chelsea (fellow runner, blogger, and friend!) who was my FIRST DONOR!!!  Please join her HERE with your donation to my chosen charity – Autism Support Dogs.  Their mission:

Autism Support Dogs is a registered charity that provides professionally trained support dogs for families with an autistic child, at no cost to the family. The goal of our charity is to improve the quality of life of children with autism (ages 4-12) and their family by providing a trained autism support dog. We rely entirely on donations so that we can provide these dogs free of charge to families. It takes up to 2 years and costs our charity up to $35,000 to produce each autism support dog.

I have a fundraising goal of $100…so won’t you please, please, please help me – and these wonderful, beautiful dogs?

ABguideDogs_Serge

Jen

7 thoughts on “Calgary Half Training: Week 13

  1. Oh wow, I absolutely love the running path along the reservoir!! So cool and beautiful!
    I’ve had an experience like this today!! I was focusing on my small failure, but in the grand scheme of things, it’s no big deal! Great lesson!

  2. It’s amazing how quickly the Calgary Marathon weekend has been sneaking up. I think you’re going to have a great race! I love the Glenmore Reservoir path, such pretty scenery! Enjoy the taper.

    • Hi!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 EEK – I know…two weeks to go….I honestly can’t believe how quickly it came. I was just mentioning to another blogger that when I started my 16 week plan, it felt SO FAR away… haha. Perhaps we will cross paths one day along the Reservoir. xoxo.

Leave a Reply

