Thinking Out Loud: May 15th

Hello friends!  I am joining Amanda at Running with Spoons for her “Thursdays are for…Thinking Out Loud” series.  What’s in it for me?  A brain dump.  What’s in it for you?  Total randomness!  Enjoy!

Mother’s Day 2014.  Another year away from my momma…but that’s ok…because we talk at least once a day!!!  We’re even closer now, as adults, than we were back when I was a wee lil’ thing… XOXO – Love you, Mom!  And a shout out to my awesome mother-in-law!!!  We love you!!

Mom1

Cowboy Boots.  This weekend the hubby and I went shopping for Stampede – and that’s right friends – I bought my first pair of real cowboy boots.  (And they’re made in Canada!!!)   The hubby has a pair of Texas boots….so I was needing some fun boots to wear for the two weeks of Rodeo fun!  Some friends recommended we try Lammle’s…and it did not disappoint!

Boulet Snip Toe Selvaggio Cowgirl Boots

Boulet Snip Toe Selvaggio Cowgirl Boots

Weirdest Internet Moment.  I quickly typed in Google.com and hit enter and as I was leaving my desk for a cup of coffee.  When I came back, this was on my screen – Search Results for “Gog and Magog”.  Totally random….considering I never search via Yahoo! and I must have only typed in “gog” before hitting enter.  Definitely random!

TOL_Gog and Magog

Oil Pulling Fail.  So I have been seeing LOTS of talk about Oil Pulling…and loved the article from Amanda on Oil Pulling 101…so I thought I would give it a try.  I bought a jar of organic Coconut Oil – helped myself to a *small* tablespoon of oil – and within 10 seconds BARELY made it to the trashcan where I violently spit it out.  Yes…oil streaks on the wall were a nice touch.  If you remember….I have a very nice lil’ quirk with certain *textures* of food in my mouth…and for some reason….the consistency of the oil going from mush to liquid quite literally made me gag.  Hmm.  I would like to try it again…perhaps with 1/2 a teasoon…and see if I can’t just get over it….*sigh*.

Blogger Love.  I won a Starbucks gift card in Amalia’s giveaway a few weeks back – and received the card in the mail Tuesday morning.  Woot-woot!!!  And her hand-written note made my day – “…have a maple or caramel macchiato on me.”  #BloggerLove #Canada.

BloggerLove

Photography 101 Article.  I read this article (HERE)  from Wordpress last week, and am completely loving their advice on how to take a better picture.  Example 1: Rule of Thirds.  When looking through your camera, visualize the scene before you with a grid consisting of two vertical and two horizontal lines, similar to a tic-tac-toe pattern, placed over it. Place the main subject of your photo on one of the points where the vertical and horizontal lines intersect.  Example 2: Leading Lines.  Leading lines, whether intentional or accidental or man-made or natural, draw your eye through a photograph.  Example 3: “S” Curves.  Curves, which may resemble the lines of the letter “S,” can be subtle or pronounced   Example 4: Foreground – Middle – Background.  Think about a photograph’s composition as having foreground, middle, and background elements. For example, when looking for foreground elements in the front part of your image, consider an object as simple as a large rock.  Check out the photos below – hopefully they give you some inspiration to go out and take your own photo today!

rule-of-thirds

Rule of Thirds

Leading Lines

Leading Lines

"S" Curve

“S” Curve

Foreground - Middle - Backgroun

Foreground – Middle – Background

My pic of the day!

Bridge

BIG  Kitty Kisses.  I am LOVING this lil’ video clip that the hubby sent me Tuesday morning (<– the man knows the way to my heart!) !!!

TOL

What’s on your mind?

Jen

5 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: May 15th

  1. I’m a lot close to my mom now than I was when I was younger as well. In fact, I can’t believe I was such a jerk in my teenage years 😆 And ack at the oil pulling incident! I would definitely try starting with a smaller amount, or even with an oil that isn’t solid. I don’t remember ever having an issue with it, but then again I’m a weirdo 😆

    • Hey lady!!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 I will definitely try the oil pulling again…this time with a smaller amount. If that doesn’t do it…I don’t know…I may just have to resort to brushing and flossing. haha.

  2. I think the rule of thirds is one of the most helpful ones for me… not that I know that many of them lol! I find it helps you to compose the picture better, so there is some dynamics in it too. I like the idea behind this series! xoxo

Leave a Reply

