Daydream: St. John’s, Newfoundland { Canada }

via: Brian Carey

via: Brian Carey

Hello friends!  Today I’m { daydreaming } about my upcoming vacation to St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada!  To arrive, you must fly or take a boat.  The Province’s time zone is 1.5 hours ahead of the Eastern time zone… it’s literally called Newfoundland Time.  The island has it’s own dialect of Irish, English and French – I already know I’ll be chatting up strangers just to hear them talk!   The local people are renowned for their friendliness and hospitality.  We’ve also been told that in short, no one knows what the weather will be like during our visit. It could be sunny and warm, it could be overcast and cool, it may be pouring rain or it could be extremely foggy – sometimes all on the same day.

STJ_GoSeeDo

  • Visit Signal Hill – the highest peak in the city, where it was guarded from pirates, and is where the very first wireless telegraph was sent from and overlook St. John’s Harbour.
  • Explore Quidi Vidi Lake and Quidi Vidi Village, a historic fishing village which is also home to Newfoundland’s largest microbrewery – Quidi Vidi Brewery.
  • Visit the Cape Spear lighthouse and stand on the last piece of land before you hit Europe, as it is the most easterly point of land in North America.
  • Take a haunted hike one evening and enter dark alleys to hear about the city’s ghoulish tales from back in the day.
  • No visit to St. John’s is complete without a visit to George Street which is promoted as having the most pubs per square foot of any street in North America. There will be no shortage of live entertainment, particularly of the Irish-Newfoundland variety!
  • Learn about Newfoundland history and culture by visiting The Rooms (art gallery and museum).
  • Hike a portion of the East Coast Trail – 265 km of developed trail which takes you past towering cliffs and headlands, sea stacks, deep fjords, and a natural wave-driven geyser called the Spout.  It provides access to abandoned settlements, lighthouses, ecological reserves, seabird colonies, whales, icebergs, world’s southern most caribou herd, historic sites, a 50-metre suspension bridge, two active archaeological dig sites, and much more!
  • Take a boat ride to do some whale watching (I’ve read that May to September are the best times of year to see them!) and watch the icebergs float by (best times of year to see them is May and June) and hopefully catch glimpse of an Atlantic Puffin!

STJ_Eat

My eat & drink wants:

  • Get “Sreeched in” at Trapper John’s on George Street – a fun ceremony preformed for people who visit Newfoundland as a “welcome to the province.”  I hear it’s oh-so-much fun!
  • Dine on a local favorite dish, fish & chips, at the famous Duke of Duckworth pub/restaurant.
  • Try “cod tongues” – and yes – that is exactly what it sounds like…  (<– brave face here!)
  • Enjoy a Lighthouse Picnic along the cliffs of Ferryland.

Additional restaurant recommendations (reservations recommended):

  • Raymonds – Fine dining, source locally-grown ingredients for menu.
  • Biancas – Fine dining, regional-based cuisine with Mediterranean influence.
  • Portobellos – Fresh seafood, poultry, and steak with a great view.
  • Bacalao – An innovative interpretation of Newfoundland cuisine using local produce, products, and spirits.
  • Olivers – Contemporary Canadian bistro that offers gourmet comfort food in a warm, cozy setting.
  • Mallard Cottage – Showcases Newfoundland wild game, seafood, and produce; traditional music “session” on Sunday afternoon and evening.
  • Magnum and Steins – Fresh local seafood, prime cuts of beef and lamb, hand-crafted desserts.
  • Black Sea – Variety of Mediterranean dishes.
  • Legros and Motti – A French-Italian fusion restaurant, the newest eatery in downtown St. John’s.

STJ_StayTheNight

  • Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland – Landmark hotel located in historic downtown overlooking St. John’s harbour and Signal Hill.  Steps away from shopping, restaurants, museums, and nightlife.

STJ_Daydreams

I hope to be taking lots of pics for your viewing pleasure!!!  For now…you can daydream along with me…

puffin

StJohns6

StJohns3

StJohns4

via: DowntownStJohns.com

via: DowntownStJohns.com

Jen

 

 

8 thoughts on “Daydream: St. John’s, Newfoundland { Canada }

  1. It’s beautiful!! I had to look it up on a map (how very American of me) and it’s not even that far from me!! Have a wonderful vacation – I can’t wait to hear about it!

    • No worries…I had to look it up on a map too!!! Since moving to Canada from the US, I can’t believe just how little I knew of our neighbor… I can’t wait to share my adventure…and hopefully one day you will get a chance to visit St. John’s too!! Canada is such a wonderful country 🙂

  2. Awesome!! This is one area of Canada I’ve always wanted to see. Our sales rep that covers that area always talks about how beautiful of a place it is, i think he lives in Halifax. He can also talk like a “Newfie” and it’s hilarious to try and decipher it. Can’t wait to see your pictures!

    • YES!!! I can’t wait to stalk the “Newfies” – haha!!! I told the hubby I was going to secretly tape our cabbie talking just so I could share 🙂 Can’t wait to go…and can’t wait to share the pics 🙂 PS – thanks for stopping by!

  3. Jen,

    Amy Craig referred me to your site as I’m a displaced Newfie living in Covington… I’d recommend a trip outside the city, either to the Irish Loop or out to Trinity if you’ve got more time. Getting out of the city is a must if you want to hear a true Newfie accent, and you’ll be guaranteed to see some bergs (especially up in the Trinity area). There is an iceberg tracking site that you can find online to help guide you in the right direction. The boat tours in Bay Bulls are great, and in St. John’s I would definitely stop by Bacalao for some toutons and moose sausages for breakfast.

    Enjoy!!

    Alicia Seward

    • Alicia – HELLO!!! 🙂 I must thank Amy! Thanks for stopping by…and thank you for the icebergs tips and restaurant recommendations! How often do you get a chance to head home? Next time I am in Covington, we should meet up!

  4. Hey! It’s one place I have yet to be in my country but my family all went there once (I was in school) and it looked incredible. They still talk about it. Enjoy your time there and I can’t wait to see all your pictures!

  5. Hey! I thought I’d search WordPress to see if anyone was talking about Newfoundland, and I didn’t realize how popular of a tourist spot it is! If you get here soon you’ll see all sorts of icebergs. Be sure to pack a sweater though, the weather here is definitely unpredictable, like you said. We had a frost warning last night and now they’re saying tomorrow will be 20C, it’s ridiculous. The townies don’t have a strong accent, to really hear it, go a little ways out of the city in some of the bay villages.

    And don’t worry, cod tongues aren’t that bad, my grandmother made me try them and despite the gross name they’re pretty okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

