July 2014 Running Goals

Hello friends!  Last month I brought back the monthly running goals in an effort to keep me motivated while not training for a half marathon.

June Fitness Rewind:

  • 2 miles Cycling (Stationary Bike)
  • 36.4 miles Walking
  • 41.2 miles Running

June Running Goals (Post HERE):

  • Run 1 hill workout
    • June 25th – technically not a hill workout…but a stairs workout!  (5 sets of Memorial Stairs – 167 steps each. Up: 1:25, 1:52, 1:53, 1:54, 2:00 Down: 1:22, 1:18, 1:22, 1:24, 1:20)
  • Run 2 speed/track workouts (would love to gradually introduce this back into my training!)
    • June 4th (A bit of speed work tonight! #NationalRunningDay 0.6m@6.6; 0.4m@6.8; 0.2m@7.0; 0.2m@7.2; 0.1m@7.3,7.4,7.5; 0.3@6.6)
    • June 10th (Progressive run! 0.5m@6.7,6.8,6.9,7.0,7.1,7.2)
  • Complete 3 “naked” runs (sorry friends…I simply mean no music or pace prompts!)
    • June 3rd (“Naked” run today!! Nice and easy – no pace prompts – no music….just me and the road. Loop was a perfect 2.5m….win!!!)
    • June 23rd (Super tough run…first day back after two-week running break. Naked run. Tried to run “easy” but felt like legs wanted to move faster. Breathing good up to ~mile 2.)
    • June 26th (Super sore from stairs yesterday, but knew I needed to work out the soreness. “Naked” run to focus on my breathing.)
    • June 29th (Nice easy Sunday morning run trying to beat the rain! I brought all my gear, but it ended up being a naked run…full of surprises along the way. I went along a “closed path” and had an amazing picture of the cityscape! The river – the birds – the hidden paths…it was a great run!)
    • June 30th (Beautiful day out, so I decided to run Prince’s Island Park (outer loop, then mini inner loops). No paces, no music. (73*F/23*C w/38% humidity). Snack at 4pm.)
  • Complete 4 morning runs (I am NOT a morning person…so once a week will be a challenge in and of itself!)
    • June 29th
  • Run 5 days in a row (<–how did I never think twice about this in high school?!)
    • Nope…not even close!!!  (Run days: 1st, 3rd, 4th, 7th, 8th, 10th, (2 week break!) 23rd, 25th, 26th, 29th, 30th)
  • Run 6 five-milers
    • June 8th (A solid 45 min run @6.6)
    • June 29th

MapleLeaf2

July 2014 Running Goals:

  • Do 1 hill workout
  • Complete 2 stair workouts
  • Complete 3 speed/track workouts
  • Complete 4 morning runs
  • Complete 5 cross-training sessions
  • Run 6 “naked” runs
  • Run 7 four-milers

Did you see what I did there?  7 challenges for the 7th month!  Since I only completed about 50% of my June goals, I thought I would attempt them again, but with an added twist.

What are some of your monthly goals?

Jen

4 thoughts on “July 2014 Running Goals

    • Yah…I read another blogger whose goals included runs with no music, and it got me thinking…that’s how I used to run, back in school. I only listened to music as a “pump me up/get in the zone” before races…not during. xoxo.

Leave a Reply

