Good Reads – June 2014

ReadingBench

Hello friends and fellow bookworms!
My first read was Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.  The first lines: “They say that just before you die your whole life flashes before your eyes, but that’s now how it happened for me.  To be honest, I’d always thought the whole final-moment, mental life-scan thing sounded pretty awful.  Some things are better left buried and forgotten, as my mom would say.”  Summary from Goodreads: “For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.  However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.”  My thoughts: This is a sad book – but good.  Lots of reviewers will say that the plot is somewhat of a cross between Mean Girls and Groundhog Day, but as my first Lauren Oliver novel, I found some depth to the characters and their experiences.  At first, I was rolling my eyes at the characters….but then I realized it’s been over ten years since I was in high school.  So I believe the books draws in two types – those who can see themselves as Sam – and those whose high school experience was nothing like hers.  Either way, Sam’s journey of self-discovery really hits home the idea that just because you make bad decisions, doesn’t mean you’re a bad person.  And one more important life lesson – it’s never too late to make a change.  (3/5 Stars)
Published: February 14, 2010 by HarperCollins
Category: YA, Death & Dying, Contemporary Fiction
Next up was The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa.  The first lines: “In the real world, when you vanish into thin air for a week, people tend to notice.”  Summary from Goodreads: “After his unexpected journey into the lands of the fey, Ethan Chase just wants to get back to normal. Well, as “normal” as you can be when you see faeries every day of your life. Suddenly the former loner with the bad reputation has someone to try for-his girlfriend, Kenzie. Never mind that he’s forbidden to see her again. But when your name is Ethan Chase and your sister is one of the most powerful faeries in the Nevernever, “normal” simply isn’t to be. For Ethan’s nephew, Keirran, is missing, and may be on the verge of doing something unthinkable in the name of saving his own love. Something that will fracture the human and faery worlds forever, and give rise to the dangerous fey known as the Forgotten. As Ethan’s and Keirran’s fates entwine and Keirran slips further into darkness, Ethan’s next choice may decide the fate of them all.”  My thoughts: I liked this one better than the last, mostly because it felt more in line with the first series!  One of my favorite parts of a companion series is getting to see the previous beloved characters again – and one of the most fun parts about Ethan’s series is waiting for the moment that Meghan, Puck, Ash, Grimalkin and other loved (or feared) characters will show their faces.  Although I enjoyed The Lost Prince, it was a hard transition for me after four books with Meghan and Ash in the the Iron Fey series.  However, as I got further into this book, and Keirran and company came back, I was more and more hooked.  Can’t wait for the next one. (4/5 Stars)

Published: October 29, 2013 by Harlequin Teen
Category: Paranormal, Fae, YA
Series: Call of the Forgotten book 2 (After The Iron Fey book 4)
June2014 Books
What has been your favorite read of 2014 so far?  Any recommendations for me?
Jen
2 thoughts on “Good Reads – June 2014

    • Hello friend! To be honest – I had mixed feelings about this book. There were parts that really captivated me, too…but then there were parts when I wanted to pull my hair out and stop reading! Some of the thoughts that Sam would think as she would pass from one day to the next were beautifully written – causing one to question how you treat people and respect the things we have. How do we (ourselves) treat people? How much affect do we have on the world (people) around us? It is a thought provoking book – so in that regard, I can give the book a solid 4 stars. But all the other parts of the book, in order to get the point across, were a bit rough and depressing to read. I struggled through the majority of the book because of these 4 teenage girls and their behavior to others. The book may have been realistic but it was depressing to read…so I gave it a 3! 🙂

Leave a Reply

