Leave It All On The Road // 07.21.2014

Hello again!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap – and for the first time in a long time, I’m excited to say that I had no “rest” days.  Even if I didn’t run or cross-train, I walked to/from work so that I could at least get in some movement!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad2

{ Jul 14 – Jul 20, 2014 }

  • Monday: Cardio: 2 mile walk
  • Tuesday: Cardio: 5.5 mile walk, 3.2 mile run; Strength + Abs: 3×20 Squats, 3×20 Abs (bicycles, sit-ups, starfish)
  • Wednesday: Cardio: 2 mile walk
  • Thursday: Cardio: 2 mile walk, 6 mile stationary bike; Strength + Abs: 30 sec Plank, 60 sec Plank, 60 sec Plank, 30 sec Plank
  • Friday: Cardio: 3 mile walk
  • Saturday: Cardio: 3 mile walk, 4.3 mile run; Strength + AbsBikini Arms
  • Sunday: Cardio: 3 mile walk, 6.25 mile stationary bike; Strength + Abs: Tone It Up Beach Babes DVD (Bikini Booty, Bikini Abs, Long and Lean)

Walking – 20.5 miles
Biking – 12.25 miles
Running – 7.5 miles
Strength – 4 sessions

{ Notes From My Runs }

07.15 – Easy 30 min (that was actually tough after 2 wks off…) Steady pace, no music/pace prompts – snack 45 min before – super tough last 12 min. 85*/30% humidity.

07.19 – Steady 40 min run along river path. Miles 1 & 3 tough.

{ Other highlights }

The “other side” of the Eau Claire/Bow River running path is finally OPEN!  It was under construction for months…and the hubby and I have never been able to run the full loop long the river.  It was a nice change of scenery, but more importantly, nice to be able to just zone out and run vs. trying to figure out which neighborhood streets would get me back to the path!!!

Sports Massage!  I wasn’t feeling 100% this weekend, but still went for an early morning run on Saturday.  By mid-afternoon, I was tight and sore and had a massive headache, so I decided to walk around downtown for a bit to get some fresh air.  I tried three different places to pamper myself with a pedicure, but had no luck.  (Who knew you needed reservations for pedicures?!  This is city life, I suppose!)  As I was walking back to the condo, I came across a massage place and thought I’d step in to get some info.  Massages after my half marathons in Louisiana were AH-MAZ-ING…so I wanted to see availability, pricing, etc. here.  As I was talking to the lady, she mentioned that there was an available spot right then for a sports massage, if I was interested, for a discounted first-time rate.  I thought…why not?!  And it was pretty darn awesome.  A bit different from a relaxation massage…but it was kind of cool to have my therapist explain/show movement and muscle interactions in a runner, and work on those areas which were SUPER tight and show me where I should focus with a foam roller.

{ Upcoming Races }

Wednesday, July 30th – The Zoo Run 5K!  I randomly came across this upcoming race, and thought it would be a ton of fun to run by the Calgary Zoo!  And it can serve as a “speed” workout during the week!!  Win-win.

{ Running Mishaps }

It’s kind of hard to know exactly what I did, but as I was warming up on Tuesday’s run, I completely slammed one hand into the other.  I typically carry my handheld water in my left hand and my phone in my right hand.  As I was doing my arm crosses, something on my left hand (ring or water bottle snap) hit the flesh on my right hand and it immediately started dripping with blood.  Luckily I was near a water fountain to rinse it off…and even though it looked like only a small chunk of my skin is missing, it literally throbbed for the first ten minutes of my run.  Later that night, I noticed the area between my thumb and forefinger was slightly swollen.  Within two days, you could see a GIANT bruise across half my hand.  It’s a bit hard to see in the pics below, but half my right hand is a deep reddish-purple.  YIKES.

image (4)

Hand Bruise

{ Scenes From My Runs }

IMG_20140719_221419

IMG_20140719_073729

How was YOUR weekly fitness program?

Jen

3 thoughts on “Leave It All On The Road // 07.21.2014

Leave a Reply

