Goodbye, July 2014

Here’s what I was loving in July:

Book

The Housekeeper and the Professor.  I ADORED this book.  I can’t remember now where I came across it (most likely on fellow blogger/runner Jeri’s goodreads list!), but I’m so glad I finally took the time to read it.  Full review HERE.

Book_Housekeeper

Music

Beach Avenue.  I came across this band while watching America’s Got Talent.  I absolutely cannot believe they didn’t make it to the live round…but either way…I’m now a HUGE fan and hope you enjoy too!

Guilty Pleasure

Audio books.  Yes – I’m such a nerd!  But as I have a good 20 minute walk to and from work, I am able to get in a lil’ extra “reading” under my belt.  I enjoy listening mostly to non-fiction, as it feels like someone is telling me a story.

Nail Color

N.Y.C. Madison Avenue.  This color just felt right for Canada Day and the 4th of July!  Unfortunately, I did not get a pic on my own, so I borrowed one:

pic via: The Nail Goddess

pic via: The Nail Goddess

Entertainment

Breaking Bad.  Summary: To provide for his family’s future after he is diagnosed with lung cancer, a chemistry genius turned high school teacher teams up with an ex-student to cook and sell the world’s purest crystal meth.  Rating: 9.6/10 on IMDB.  Thoughts:  To be honest, this is a sad series that I just can’t turn away from – a tale of a high-school chemistry teacher in a dusty corner of America, toiling away in a life of quiet desperation, only to be told he’s dying of cancer.  So he teams up with a wayward former pupil, Jesse, to make and sell crystal meth, to earn big bucks fast and thereby provide security for his family after his death.  Yet, as you follow along the journey, you begin to question why you continue watching one of the darkest, most disturbing shows ever shown on TV.  White is deeply repressed, very angry, and totally unable to deal with his own emotions.  Is he, as he claims, just trying to make his family financially secure?  Or is this some desperate, incoherent scream of rage in the face of the ­approaching blackness?  And yet…I’m left constantly wondering what shocking crime he will commit next.  And why.

BreakingBad

Wish/Needs

Fitbit Flex. Ever since our company launched an initiative called “10K A Day” and bought employees a pedometer in order to encourage each of us to reach 10,000 steps a day, I’ve been increasingly obsessed with getting a personal fitness tracker.  I love that the Fitbit can also track sleep.  And that it connects to apps to get an accurate reading of fitness activity.  A close friend bought the Fitbit Ultra a few years ago and she tried to get me to get it then…but I was content with my pedometer.  Lately though, I’ve been obsessing over the wristbands, and think I can convince the hubby to get one too!!!

FitBit

Food

Red’s Diner.  When our friends were visiting during Stampede, we walked by this diner multiple times, and saw that it was ALWAYS busy!!!  Good sign, right?  So one morning we decided to walk down the street and see what all the fuss was about.  It. was. amazing!  I ended up getting the goat cheese stuffed french toast.  I can’t wait to devour ALL the items on the menu!!!

RedsDiner

Drink

Aquafina Plus Vitamin Water.  I love water.  And I easily drink over the recommended 8 glasses a day.  But occasionally I crave a lil’ flavor.  That’s where my current obsession with vitamin water comes in – brimming with antioxidant vitamins C, E, B3, B5 and B12, Aquafina Plus+ Vitamins 10 Cal Enhanced Water is a delicious drink that is naturally sweetened with PureVi Reb A, a natural sweetener.  It is available in five delicious flavors: Black & Blue Berry, Fuji Apple Pear, Yumberry Pomegranate, Açai Fruit Punch, and Strawberry Lemonade.  They are a great addition to my lunchbox.

Aquafina

Triumph

My first 5K race of the year – sort of!  The Zoo Run was more of a “fun run” – not timed,  nor an accurate course distance.  But I still participated and had a chance to run around at a somewhat slightly faster pace than I would have on my own.

TheZooRun

Bane of Existence

Shaving My Legs.  Every. Single. Day.  Well…if I’m being honest, there are days when I don’t shave and just hide around the house in sweat pants…I don’t care if it’s 80* outside…I just don’t wanna.  But sometimes I have to force myself if I plan to run or head to the gym…ugh.  Why haven’t we evolved to be hairless on our legs and under our armpits???

Blogger Crush

Kris @ Canadian Girl Runs.  Kris has been in my daily Bloglovin‘ feed for months now!  This girl is sweet, athletic, family oriented, upbeat, and all around awesome.  If you haven’t connected with her yet, swing on over and say HI!

Indulgence

Chair Massage at work!  For $17, I can get a 30 minute head/neck/shoulders/upper back massage!!!  I signed up for my first one last week, and it was so rejuvenating!  I definitely think I could swing this every other week.  

Outfit

It was on my summer bucket list to “wear a new color.”  I have recently been obsessed with electric yellow.  I don’t usually wear yellow (any shade of yellow), and I think I can list on one hand the number of times I have worn it…so I branched out and tried a couple of versions of the color in July!

yellow

Excitement

Calgary Stampede!!!  It was amazing to have our friends come visit for the week.  I loved sharing our new city with them, catching up on old memories, and just hanging out with people who I can completely be myself with!!!  The Calgary Stampede and Rodeo was FULL of excitement!

Link

jetpunk.com  I’m not gonna lie…this site is ADDICTING – especially if you enjoy spending mind-numbing hours on testing your world knowledge via mini-quizzes.  I can now conquer the names of all 196 countries.

What were you loving in July?

Jen

One thought on “Goodbye, July 2014

  1. I want a fitbit too! And I hear you on the shaving your legs bit. I actually just had to touch my legs as I read your post to see if they are acceptable for the gym today. They’re a little borderline but I’m going to wear my shorts anyways 😉

Leave a Reply

