Leave It All On The Road // 01.12.2015

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap!  This week wasn’t easy for me.  I’m still fighting off the remainder of my chest cold AND the outdoor temps were frigid, so my mileage was pretty low this week.  All my runs were indoors, on the treadmill…and I pretty much just played it by ear.  On Monday and Tuesday, I just ran until I started to get overheated, and my chest would burn.  On yesterday’s run however, I decided to try a few run/walk intervals to cool down a bit.  It worked…I was able to get in 4 miles!  I was also able to fit-in three, yes THREE, strength sessions this week!  I focused mainly on upper body, but will introduce more core and lower body work in the weeks to come.  You’ve gotta start somewhere, huh?   Over the next couple of weeks, I’ll be building up my base mileage so that I can transition into a training cycle.

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ Jan 05 – Jan 11, 2015 }

Walking – 6.5 miles
Biking – NA
Elliptical – 2.6 miles
Running – 7.5 miles
Strength – 3 sessions

{ Fitness Notes }

01.05 – Easy 1.5 miles

  • 1 mile warm-up walk
  • 1.5 mile run (10:00/mile)
  • 0.5 mile cool-down walk

01.06 – Easy 2 miles + Strength workout

  • 0.8 mile warm-up walk
  • 2 mile run (9:36/mile)
  • 0.5 mile cool-down walk
  • Upper Body strength session + Squats
    • 2×12 @ 20 lbs Seated Rows, Wide-grip Lateral pull-down, Reverse-grip lateral pull-down; 2×12 @ 12.5 lbs cable rope tricep pull-down
    • 55 lbs bench press – 5 reps, 7 reps, 8 reps
    • 50 Squats

01.07 –  Rest

01.08 – Rest

01.09 – Strength workout

  • Upper Body strength session
    • 2×12 @ 20 lbs Seated Rows, Wide-grip Lateral pull-down, Reverse-grip lateral pull-down; 2×12 @ 12.5 lbs cable rope tricep pull-down
    • Bench press – 8 reps @55 lbs, 10 reps @65 lbs, 10 reps @55 lbs
    • 50 Squats
  • 1 mile cool-down walk

01.10 – Rest

01.11 – 4 miles + Strength workout

  • 1 mile warm-up walk
  • 1 mile run intervals (9:34/mile) (x4)
    • 0.25 mile walk recovery (x4)
  • 2.6 miles elliptical
  • 0.7 mile cool-down walk
  • Upper Body strength session + Squats
    • 2×10 @ 20 lbs Seated Rows, 2×10 @ 12.5 lbs cable rope tricep pull-down, 2×10 @ 7.5 lbs xxx
    • 3×10 @55 lbs bench press
    • 10 Weighted Squats @45 lbs

{ Scenes From My Runs }

Only 1 this week…the beginning of a beautiful sunset as seen from my work gym!

2015/01/img_2673-1.jpg

How is YOUR fitness training going?

Jen

Leave a Reply

