Five Things Friday // 01.16.2015

Hello friends and Happy Friday!  It’s time to link up with Clare for Five Things Friday and Heather for Friday FavoritesEnjoy!

  1. Hockey Game #2.  Remember the hockey tickets we purchased at the JDRF Hope Gala?  These are the AH-MAZ-ING seats we got!!!  Row 7 – just caddy-corner of the goal!  We invited along a couple of friends to join us and made an evening out of it.  One of the best parts, was when they sang the National Anthem of BOTH countries!  It was unique to be singing along for the US song…and to have no idea what all the words were for the Canada one – but I thought it was all lovely!  It was also military appreciation night – which always makes me tear up!  Unfortunately, we lost by 1 for the evening (vs. the Panthers)…but it was a REALLY good game!
    HockeyJan
  2. Midnight in Paris.  The 2015 Winter Gala for my work is this weekend…and the theme is “Midnight in Paris.”  At first, I was like, what the heck does that mean?  But then I read on…Semi-formal or Parisian Chic.  Experience the sights, sounds and tastes of Paris!  Sip cocktails while being serenaded by live music.  Sample Parisian-inspired dishes and delicate pastries.  have your caricature done by a street artist or dance the night away to a mix of local classics and Parisian hits.  I can’t wait to share my evening with you!
  3. Seizing Opportunity.  I’m currently finishing up Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers, and was struck by a passage that states, “Everything we have learned in Outliers says that success follows a predictable course.  It is not the brightest who succeed.  {…} Nor is success simply the sum of the decisions and efforts we make on our own behalf.  It is, rather, a gift.  Outliers are those who have been given opportunities – and who have had the strength and presence of mind to seize them.”  What are your thoughts?
  4. Ski Date at Nakiska.  I’m SKIING today!!!!  Our buddies asked us to join them skiing last weekend…but I was still sick 😦  So…when my friend Liz asked me to join her today, and I was feeling 90% over my cold, I said YES – immediately!  This will be my first time skiing in the Canadian Rockies – so I can’t wait to share my adventure with you!
  5. Stair Workout.  The hubby and I thought we would complete a “stair workout” on Wednesday night in lieu of outdoor hills…and completed just over 2,400 steps (up & down)…and man…my calves are still sore today!!!  ay-yi-yi.  I suppose it can only get better from here!

5ThingsFriday

FridayFavorites

 What are you loving this week?

Jen

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday // 01.16.2015

Leave a Reply

