Leave It All On The Road // 02.09.2015

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ Feb 02 – Feb 08, 2015 }

Walking – 5 miles
Biking – 5.5 miles
Elliptical – NA
Stairs – 1 Session
Running – 11.17 miles
Strength + Core – 3 sessions

{ Fitness Notes }

02.02 – Rest

02.03 – Rest

02.04 –  4×400 meter sprints (Treadmill) – 3 miles total

  • Dynamic stretching
  • 1 mile warm-up walk
  • 0.5 mile warm-up jog @6.0 – 10:00/mile pace
  • 0.25 mile sprints, followed by 0.25 mile recovery jogs
    • (1) @7.5 – 8:00/mile pace
      • Recovery jog @5.0
    • (1) @7.6 – 7:54/mile pace
      • Recovery jog @5.2
    • (1) @7.7 – 7:48/mile pace
      • Recovery jog @5.4
    • (1) @7.8 – 7:42/mile pace
      • Recovery jog @5.6
  • 0.5 mile cool-down jog @6.0  – 10:00/mile pace
  • Static stretching

02.05 – Rest

02.06 – Strength + Core

  • 0.5 mile treadmill walk
  • Upper Body strength + Core session
    • 2×12 @55 lbs + 6 reps @65 lbs Bench Press
    • 3×15 Sit-ups
    • 3×12 @27.5 lbs Lateral Pulldowns
    • 3×15 Bicycles

02.07 – 5.67 treadmill miles + Cycle + Core

  • Dynamic stretching
  • 1.1 mile warm-up walk
  • Run
    • 3.1 mile run (9:23/mile)
    • 2 mile run (9:15/mile)
    • 0.57 mile cool-down jog (10:14/mile)
  • Cycle 5.5 miles
  • Core
    • 2×15 Starfish (each side)
    • 2×15 Bird-dog (each side)
    • 2×30 sec Plank
  • 0.85 mile cool-down walk
  • Static stretching

02.08 –  2.5 treadmill miles + Stairs + Strength

  • Dynamic stretching
  • 1 mile warm-up walk
  • 2.5 mile run (9:40/mile)
  • 0.55 mile cool-down walk
  • Upper Body Strength
    • 2×12 @10 lbs Bicep Curl into Overhead Press Combo
    • 2×12 @10 lbs Overhead Triceps
    • 2×12 @10 lbs Dumbell Bent Over Rows
  • Stairs
    • 39 Flights up and down – 15 Minutes
  • Static stretching

{ Weekly Chase Link-Up }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

What I’m most proud of:

Completing my 4×400 repeats!  It has been FAR TOO MANY months since I’ve last completed targeted speed work.  I felt good and wanted to keep going…but thought I should ease myself into it.  I wasn’t 100% sure where to set the pace, so this time around I did negative splits.  I think it worked great!  And…getting my splits down to faster paces will help me reach my eventual sub-25 5K goal!

Where I struggled:

Treadmill running for longer runs.  Not to make excuses…but I just get so dang HOT in the gym running on the treadmill.  I literally sweat buckets – it’s gross!  Even if I feel good and start out strong, I get so unmotivated once I reach around the 2.5 mile mark, and it becomes such a struggle to keep my focus, and I keep stopping at 3 miles to wipe down and walk around the room to get my heart rate back down to a manageable level…but again…it’s demotivating to stop!  The gym offers small floor fans, aimed at our legs, but it’s not enough for me.  I think I will buy a small clip-on desk fan to hook onto the treadmill near my face/neck for the days that I have to run long and it’s SUPER cold outside.

Thought for the week ahead:

Start somewhere today.  Don’t put it off.  You can do something no matter how ‘small’ you think it is in terms of your long-term goal.  Every step you take is one you’ll be thankful for when you get there.  ~ Caressa Sharp

Last week’s goals:

Goal #1: Run four times this week!  Still trying to be consistent! 3 Days

Goal #2: Continue my strength training.  This is always a goal. When time gets tight, it’s the first thing I neglect…  Complete!

Goal #3: Three (3) days of core work.  I need to remember that summer abs are built in the winter, right? 2 Days

Goal #4: Develop schedule for Portland Rock’n’Roll Half.  The Portland R’n’R race is May 17th, so next week = 14 weeks away!  I can create a solid 14 week schedule, or focus on “building my base” over the next two weeks and start a strict 12 week schedule the last week of Feb.  Decisions…decisions.  Complete!  Post coming soon 🙂

This week’s goals:

Goal #1: Run 14 miles this week!  Still trying to get consistent (vs. jam-packed into 2 days).  AND I want to slowly increase my mileage to 15+ per week for my training up through end of May.

Goal #2: Continue to focus on core strength.  As I’ve been pretty consistent with at least one strength workout each of the last 5 weeks, I want to focus on adding in core work to the rotation.

Goal #3: Kick up the nutrients. This past week was a packed schedule which left me eating “quick and easy” meals.  Time to get back on the healthy eating bandwagon!

So that’s my plan for the week!  I hope you have a great week crushing your goals!

How is YOUR fitness training going?

Jen

Leave a Reply

