Leave It All On The Road // 02.16.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training Base #1

Hello friends!  A couple of days late…but hey, having a four-day weekend threw me off schedule!  So now it’s time for my weekly fitness recap!  P.S. Portland Rock’n’Roll is now officially less than 90 days away!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ Feb 09 – Feb 15, 2015 }

Walking – 10.4 miles
Biking – 2 miles
Elliptical – NA
Stairs – NA
Running – 15.9 miles
Strength + Core – 3 sessions

{ Fitness Notes }

BaseRun

02.09 – Rest

02.10 – 3 mile progression run

  • Dynamic stretching
  • 0.55 mile warm-up walk
  • 3 mile treadmill run, at an increasing pace (8:53/mile average)
    • 0.50m@6.5, 6.6, 6.7, 6.8
    • 0.25m@6.9, 7.0, 7.1, 7.2
  • 0.60 mile cool-down walk
  • Static stretching

02.11 –  Rest

02.12 – Rest

02.13 – 2.95 mile walk + 3.1 mile outdoor run + Strength + Core

  • 2.95 mile walk with hubby
  • 1.4 mile warm-up walk
  • 3.1 miles along Eau Claire river path (8:41/mile)
  • Upper Body strength + Core session
    • 2×10 @65 lbs + 20 reps @45 lbs Bench Press
    • 2×20 Bicycles
    • 2×12 @27.5 lbs Lateral Pulldowns
    • 2×30 sec Plank
  • 1.4 mile cool-down walk

02.14 – Easy 3 mile run + Core

  • Dynamic stretching
  • 1 mile warm-up walk
  • Run 3 mile run (9:30/mile)
  • 1 mile cool-down walk
  • Upper Body strength + Core session
    • 2×15 Starfish (each side)
    • 2×15 Bird-dog (each side)
    • 2×30 sec Plank
  • Static stretching

02.15 –  6.8 mile outdoor run + Cycle cool-down + Strength

  • Dynamic stretching
  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • Run 6.3 mile run (8:53/mile)
  • 0.5 mile cool-down jog (9:31/mile)
  • 10 minute cool-down stationary bike (2 miles)
  • Strength
    • 2×20 Bridges
    • 2×25 Squats
    • 2×45 sec Planks
    • 2×12 @10lbs Overhead Tricep
    • 2×12 @90lbs Leg Press
  • 1 mile cool-down walk

{ Weekly Chase Link-Up }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

What I’m most proud of:

Following through on my planned long run!  It feels just a bit weird to call my 6-miler a “long run” now that I’ve completed eight half marathons….but that’s what it was to me.  A long distance run (LDR).  The thing is, I haven’t completed a 6-miler since November 29, 2014!  And even on my longer run (4-5 miles), I have been dreading the treadmill, so I typically take a quick break around 3 miles to cool myself down, so I haven’t completed a non-stop long distance run since November 29, 2014!

Where I struggled:

Not planning ahead for a long weekend.  I changed my plan mid-week due to the fact that we had Friday-Monday off.  I started thinking to myself, since I have the time off, I’m likely going to work out more.  So I ended up on a running binge with back-to-back-to-back running Friday to Sunday.  And although I felt pretty good on Sunday’s long run, I don’t like the fact that I am specifically trying to focus on giving myself more non-running days in this training cycle, and ended up doing exactly the opposite this week.

Thought for the week ahead:

Boss

Last week’s goals:

Goal #1: Run 14 miles this week!  Still trying to get consistent (vs. jam-packed into 2 days).  AND I want to slowly increase my mileage to 15+ per week for my training up through end of May. COMPLETE!

Goal #2: Continue to focus on core strength.  As I’ve been pretty consistent with at least one strength workout each of the last 5 weeks, I want to focus on adding in core work to the rotation. COMPLETE!

Goal #3: Kick up the nutrients. This past week was a packed schedule which left me eating “quick and easy” meals.  Time to get back on the healthy eating bandwagon!  Hmm…definitely better this past week…but I forgot we had a four-day weekend when I set this goal.  I may have indulged…just a bit…but I’m okay with that!

This week’s goals:

Goal #1: Run 14 miles this week!  Can I make it two weeks in a row?!

Goal #2: Continue to focus on core strength.  As I’ve been pretty consistent with at least some core exercises throughout the last couple of week, I want to up my game a bit and complete an actual core routine or two this week.

Goal #3: Try making something new for lunch. I have a ton of food inspirations via Pinterest….now I just gotta turn one of those into an actual meal.

So that’s my plan for the week!  I hope you have a great week crushing your goals!

How is YOUR fitness training going?

RnRdiscount

Jen

One thought on “Leave It All On The Road // 02.16.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training Base #1

  1. Sounds like you had a great week! Sometimes it’s good to indulge a little, especially on holidays. I’m a big fan of balance–it’s okay to indulge once in a while if you’re good the rest of the time. And with your crazy end of the week mini run streak, you totally earned it! Hope this week goes as well as last week did for you!

Leave a Reply

