Leave It All On The Road // 03.09.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #2

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap.  And boy was this a GOOD week!  I spent a lot of time last week/weekend really thinking about my fitness journey and where I was vs. where I wanted to be.  I just finished reading Maria Kang’s The No More Excuses Diet (review tomorrow!) and more than anything it made me think about the excuses I was not only giving myself, but also ACCEPTING.  And that was a bit hard to swallow.  I know her “What’s Your Excuse” campaign sparked a bit of controversy, but I took it literally…what was my excuse?  How did I expect to crush my time goal when I’m consistently putting in less than 12 miles a week and not *really* pushing myself to go faster or further?  So, I’m pushing myself now.  I’m working more, and harder.  And I’m envisioning what it takes to crush my time goal.  I have 68 days until the Portland Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon – so no more excuses!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ Mar 02 – Mar 08, 2015 }

Walking – 7 miles
Biking – NA
Elliptical – NA
Stairs – 1
Yoga – 1
Strength/Core – 4 sessions
Running – 14.5 miles

{ Fitness Notes: Schedule vs. Actual }

Portland2

03.02 – Yoga (AM) + Legs/Abs Workout (PM)

  • 45 minute Iyengar Yoga class
  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • Legs
    • Leg Press: 4 sets of 10 reps
    • Weighted Dead Lifts: 4 sets of 10 reps
    • Hamstring Curl: 4 sets of 10 reps
    • Weighted Squats: 4 sets of 10 Reps
  • Core
    • Sit-Ups: 2 sets of 15
    • Reverse Crunch: 2 sets of 15
    • Plank: 2 sets of 45 seconds

03.03 – 2 mile easy run + Shoulders workout

  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 2 mile treadmill run @6.7 (8:58/mile)
  •  Shoulders
    • Shoulder Press: 2 sets of 15 reps
    • Side Lateral Raise: 2 sets of 15 reps
    • Front Raise: 2 sets of 15 reps
    • Bent Over Rear Delt Raise: 2 sets of 15 Reps
    • Side Lateral to Front Raise: 2 sets of 15 Reps
    • Shrugs: 2 sets of 15 Reps

03.04 –  Core Fusion (AM) + Stairs (PM)

  • 45 minute Core Fusion class
  • 30 minute Stair Master

03.05 – 1 mile walk

03.06 – 4.5 mile steady outdoor run + Back + Core

  • 1 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 4.25 mile run on Eau Claire river path (8:52/mile)
  • 0.25 mile cool-down jog
  • 0.5 mile cool-down walk
  • Back
    • Lat Pulldown: 2 sets of 12 reps
    • Underhand Cable Pulldowns: 2 sets of 12 reps
    • Bent Over Dumbbell Row: 2 sets 12 reps
    • Seated Cable Rows: 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Core
    • Plank: 2 sets of 60 seconds
  • 1 mile walk home (PM)

03.07 – 1 mile walk

03.08 – Long distance run

  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 8 mile outdoor run, from Eau Claire to Edworthy Park & back (9:28/mile)
  • 0.5 mile cool-down walk

{ Link-Up }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

What I’m most proud of:

Trying not one, but TWO, new fitness classes!  I’m really lucky in the fact that my work offers free gym classes throughout the week.  There are a couple at 6 in the morning, but all the rest are centered around lunch, ranging from 11 am to 2 pm.  So the hardest part for me is being open enough between meetings to actually do one of the classes!  So this week, I scheduled a couple of these classes into my work calendar, and thought I’d go for it!  I tried my first ever yoga class on Monday…and then went to the Core Fusion class on Wednesday!

Where I struggled:

Getting in a speed workout.  My original training schedule has Tuesdays as sprints/repeats.  This week, in addition to some new fitness classes, I was pretty strict about adding in strength workouts.  What I didn’t focus on, was the order of the workouts – aka – a new leg workout on Monday night, meant my legs were a bit too sore on Tuesday for sprints…

Thought for the week ahead:

NoExcuses

Last week’s goals:

Goal #1: Be active every day this week. COMPLETE SUCCESS – AND IT FEELS GREAT!

This week’s goals:

Goal #1: Be active every day this week.  I liked this one so much last week, that I’m going to make it a priority this week too!

How is YOUR fitness training going?

RnRdiscount

Jen

3 thoughts on “Leave It All On The Road // 03.09.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #2

  1. Congrats on a strong week Jen! I love your outlook on not making excuses and the quote you shared from the book. That sounds like a great read. I’ve been struggling with my eating the last two weeks so I’m looking forward to getting back on track with that. Keep us the good work and thanks for linking up! xo

Leave a Reply

