Leave It All On The Road // 03.16.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #3

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap.  61 days until the Portland Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ Mar 09 – Mar 15, 2015 }

Walking – 9 miles
Biking – NA
Elliptical – NA
Stairs – 1
Yoga – 1
Strength/Core – 1 session
Running
– 8.5 miles

{ Fitness Notes: Schedule vs. Actual }

Portland3

03.09 – Yoga (AM) + Back Workout (PM)

  • 1 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 45 minute Iyengar Yoga class
  • Back (3 Moves for Sexy Upper Back via Tone It Up)
    • Bent Over Front Raise: 3 sets of 10
    • Bent Over Lateral Raise: 3 sets of 10
    • Bent Over Wide Row: 3 sets of 10
    • Back Extension: 3 sets of 10
  • 1 mile walk home (PM)

03.10 – Sprints! 5 x 0.25 mile repeats on treadmill (3.5 miles total)

  • 1 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 0.5 mile warm-up jog @6.0  – 10:00/mile pace
  • 0.25 mile sprints, followed by 0.25 mile recovery jogs @5.5
    • (1) @7.5 – 8:00/mile pace
    • (1) @7.6 – 7:54/mile pace
    • (1) @7.7 – 7:48/mile pace
    • (1) @7.8 – 7:42/mile pace
    • (1) @7.9 – 7:36/mile pace
  • 0.5 mile cool-down jog @6.0  – 10:00/mile pace
  • 1 mile walk home (PM)

03.11 –  Stairs + 0.5 mile warm-up/cool-down

  • 1 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 0.5 mile warm-up jog
  • 30 minute Stairs
  • 0.5 mile cool-down jog
  • 1 mile walk home (PM)

03.12 – Active Rest

  • 1 mile walk to work (AM)

03.13 – 2 mile quick run

  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 2 mile run @6.8 (8:49/mile pace)

03.14 – 3 mile run

  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 2.5 mile run @6.7 (8:57/mile pace)
  • 0.5 mile run @6.0 (10:00/mile pace)
  • 0.8 mile cool-down walk

03.15 –  Rest

{ View from my Workouts }

Stairs

*BOOM*  8 reps (up and down) of 167 steps over 11 platforms!!!  That is a total of 2,672 stairs.  (<– I tried to convert to mileage…and I think it’s approximately 0.75 miles.  Which doesn’t sound fair….but I guarantee you the effort was tremendous!!!)

{ Weekly Chase Link-Up }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

What I’m most proud of:

Starting the week strong.  I completed my sprint workout, followed by a day of stairs.

Where I struggled:

Ending the week not-strong. This week I let my stress get the best of me!  I had a large dinner-party to host on Friday evening, and so I took more time than usual during my evenings for cleaning the house, prepping food, shopping for supplies, etc.  I knew on Friday morning I was a bit stressed, so I forced myself to hop on the treadmill for a quick 2 miles, and I do think it helped!!!  Saturday’s run was another forced run…brutally sweating out the awesome wine and fancy foods from the evening before.  An unexpected birthday party invite, which was so much fun…but left us up WAY too long, did not allow for us to get in our long run on Sunday.

Thought for the week ahead:

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts. ~ Winston Churchill

Last week’s goals:

Goal #1: Be active every day this week.  I WAS A SHAKER AND A MOVER ALL WEEK, EXCEPT SUNDAY.

This week’s goals:

Goal #1: Get back to strength training!  I would like to ensure I complete at least 3 strength-training sessions this week.

Goal #2: Work on Plank.  Current plank is 45-60 seconds. Continue to strengthen.

How is YOUR fitness training going?

RnRdiscount

Jen

One thought on “Leave It All On The Road // 03.16.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #3

  1. Awesome workouts!! Cool picture!! You are fabulous! I know you’ll achieve your goals, too! Strength training is wonderful! Rock your planks! XOXO

Leave a Reply

