Leave It All On The Road // 03.30.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #5

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap.  48 days until the Portland Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon!!!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ Mar 23 – Mar 29, 2015 }

Walking – 9.7 miles
Biking – NA
Elliptical – NA
Stairs – NA
Yoga – NA
Strength/Core – 1
Running – 14.25 miles
Total 2015 Distance: 121.57 miles

{ Fitness Notes: Schedule vs. Actual }

Portland5

03.23 – 2 mile steady run

  • 0.65 mile warm-up walk
  • 2 mile steady run on treadmill @6.8 – 8:51/mile pace
  • 0.2 mile cool-down walk

03.24 – Rest (Hubby’s Birthday!)

03.25 –  Rest

03.26 – Active Rest

  • 1 mile walk to work (AM)

03.27 – 3.25 mile outdoor run + Bench Press

  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 3.25 mile outdoor run along Bow River (8:44/mile pace)
    • Progression Run: 8:52/8:49/8:36 + 0.25m@8:29 pace
  • 0.5 mile cool-down walk
  • 1 mile walk home (PM)
  • Bench Press
    • 2×10 @55 lbs.

03.28 – Active Rest

  • 4.35 mile walk around neighborhood and Elbow River

03.29 –  9 mile long run

  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 9 mile outdoor run @9:04/mile pace
  • 1.0 mile cool-down walk

{ Weekly Chase Link-Up }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

What I’m most proud of:

I tried a new route for Sunday’s long run.  Instead of my usual loop around Eau Claire and the Bow River, I decided to head east, and follow the trail for 4.5 miles and back.  I ran past the Calgary Zoo – and caught sight of some bison!!!  It was actually pretty refreshing to not know where I was going or to have the mile markers memorized.  I had a fantastic first half of my run…getting stronger every mile…negative splits…feeling on top of my game!!!  I did, however, hit some major winds as soon as I did the turnaround at mile 4.5….but I was able to push through each gust and still finish strong!!!

9Miler

Where I struggled:

Ugh…routine…still!!!  I get so frustrated with myself that over the weekend I get in a great long run and am excited for the week ahead…and then the work week hits…and suddenly I’m not very motivated to go out and about and complete my runs.  *Womp-womp*  My core training…and my strength sessions have fallen apart…and although I’m consistently running 14+ miles a week now…there is no rhyme or reason to the training!!!  Must fix.

Thought for the week ahead:

Motivation2

Last week’s goals:

Goal #1: Nail every workout this week! #EpicFAIL…but I did get in 14+ miles for the week and nailed my long run!

Goal #2: Get back to strength training!  I’d be ok with 2 strength-training sessions this week.  #NOTsoMUCH

This week’s goals:

Goal #1: One day at a time.  Do something active every day this week!

How is YOUR fitness training going?

RnB15_CodeCard

Jen

6 thoughts on “Leave It All On The Road // 03.30.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #5

    • Hi! Yah, I can’t believe the Zoo was THAT CLOSE to my running grounds 🙂 On the way out, the buffalo were so still I almost thought they were fake!!! But on the way back, let’s just say that my nose told me they were very real 🙂 Have a good day!

  1. Found you from the rUnladylike linkup – congrats on a great week! Sometimes when my motivation is lacking I put a sticky note on my door or bathroom mirror to remind myself how great it feels to run. Other times I just listen to my body, take the extra rest and try not to worry about it too much :).

    • Hi Alyssa! Thanks for stopping by and saying hello 🙂 I love connecting with new bloggers via link-ups! It looks like you had a FANTASTIC March!!! I love the idea of the sticky note…just a gentle reminder that all you really have to do it get moving…you almost never feel worse AFTER activity 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

