Thinking Out Loud // 04.09.2015

Hello friends!  I’m joining up again with Amanda at Running with Spoons for her “Thursdays are for…Thinking Out Loud” series.  What’s in it for me?  A brain dump.  What’s in it for you?  Total randomness!  Enjoy!

TOMORROW’S FRIDAY!!! And my day off.  ‘Nuff said.

HOCKEY!!!  The hubby and I were invited to sit in the Calgary Flames’ Owners Box (for a work event) a couple of weekends ago.  I may, or may not, have been chased and “kissed” by the Mascot – Harvey the Hound – but it was fun and made me giggle!!!  We were truly spoiled, as there was a sit-down lunch, and free drinks, and an amazing view of the game!  We did lose..but it was in overtime.  So overall, a fun game!

Mascot

SUSHI.  ALL THE SUSHI.  The hubby and I have been on a sushi binge lately.  In a matter of days, we have eaten 7 different entrees from the amazing lil’ restaurant by our house.  Rainbow Roll still remains our favorite.  We got brave and tried a Canadian Breakfast roll, which was sushi…with bits of bacon and maple syrup.  Unique.  Not half bad.

BOWLING, DRINKS, DANCING.  In that order.  A couple of weekends ago I went to a friend’s birthday party, which consisted of bowling, drinks, and dinner.  We may, or may not, have followed up very late into the night with a hole-in-the-wall bar, live band music, and lots of dancing to 80’s rock!  I racked up over 6,000 steps between midnight and 2 am…totally enough reason to relax the rest of the day, no?

GIRLS JUST WANNA HAVE FUN!  The hubby is in Houston next week, so I’ve set-up a series of date nights with some awesome girlfriends!  First up is a trendy dinner with a long-time friend and co-worker I met in Louisiana.  She recently found out that she will be leaving Calgary and heading back to Houston…so I made sure to jump on her calendar!!!  Then I set-up a fun ethnic dinner date with a small group of co-workers from different departments.  I would like to do a standing monthly dinner, and pick unique ethnic restaurants throughout the city.  (I can’t wait to share them all with you!  First up…Ethiopian!)  I think it will be a fun way to connect, and just have an excuse to get together and go out.  I also have a girls movie night with another two friends/co-workers.  We did a girls movie night last month, and it was fun!  It will be really nice to be able to walk to the lil’ theater close to the office and munch on some popcorn and candy.  Nom nom nom.

BLOG LOVE.  I’ve been working on some fun updates for the blog.  First up will be an activity map for hiking in the Canadian Rockies!  I’ve cataloged our past hikes, and have a whole list of trails that I want to do this spring/summer/fall!!!  Check out the Mount Yamnuska review from Joanna at Living Mint Green.  I’m in love with the views – and crossing a mountain pass via chain…pure adrenaline rush!!!  Here is a partial list – just a few of my top picks: Johnston Canyon and the Inkpots (easy hike), Cirque Peak, Heart Mountain, Ha Ling Peak, Buller Pass, and Mt. Allen/Centennial Ridge.  And of course, a redemption hike for both Mt. Rundle and Mt. Temple!!!

Mount Yamnuska via Living Mint Green

Mount Yamnuska via Living Mint Green

I MAY BE A 70 YEAR OLD WOMAN IN A 30 YEAR OLD BODY.  Honestly….I love word games…mind games….puzzles…you name it!  I recently discovered KENKEN.  It all started when I picked up the daily paper from the kitchen, and hunted for the SUDOKU puzzle.  Yep…another favorite!  Right below the SUDOKU is a puzzle called KENKEN…which also uses numbers and unique groupings.  I’m addicted.  I now have to make sure I grab that section of the paper every day…or else I get grumpy.  Why have I never seen this before this year?!  

kenken

 

HAPPY EASTER FROM MY NIECE.  I may be partial…but I think she’s just adorable!

KorahEaster

PORTLAND.  I believe I have everything booked for our upcoming mini-vacation to Portland, Oregon, USA for the Rock’n’Roll half marathon.  Con hubby into racing with me – check.  Race registration – check.  Plane tickets – check.  Hotel – check.  Now I’m doing a bit of research on things to do in the area.  I would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your thoughts and suggestions!  My current list of recommendations include: Waterfront, Pioneer Square, Niketown, Powell’s Books, Voodoo Donuts, Saturday Market, Oregon Zoo, and Hair of the Dog Brewery.  Agree?  Disagree?!  Mt. Hood looks like a blast…but as we are only in the city from Friday – Monday, with the half marathon on Sunday, I do not think it will fit the schedule.

RnRPortland

TOL

What’s on your mind?

Jen

 

7 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud // 04.09.2015

    • Yes…it was definitely interesting 🙂 “Smoked BC salmon, crispy bacon, sweet tamago & cucumber served with canadian maple syrup sauce.” We go to KanPai Sushi on 8th street in Calgary. (http://www.kanpaicalgary.com/house-special-rolls/) Let me know what you think if you ever check it out! I’m super excited for Portland too…never been!!! And…the nerd that I am…I’m also super excited to cross off another state in my 25 states challenge 🙂 lol. Hope you have a good day!!!

  1. I’ve always said I was born 100…I like books and puzzles and crafts and thinking deep thoughts and drinking tea 🙂

    Except I too love sushi, which does not seem like a grandma thing! Although not necessarily that Canadian roll…I tend to stick to the simple stuff, a seaweed salad and fresh sashimi assortment with a big bowl of brown rice!

  2. I’d love to see your hiking activity map! I’m hoping to do a bit more hiking this year (last year we only got out to hike the ink pots in March).

    Have a great weekend!

  3. I’m running Portland too, top of the ‘to visit’ list is Voodoo donut! Looks like it’s open 24 hours which is awesome. We’re thinking about the International Rose Garden as I hear the views are incredible – assuming nice weather. It’s a crazy short trip so I’m trying not to have a gigantic list! Happy training 🙂

  4. Jen, I’ve been meaning to ask you, did you ever get an invite to the Oiselle Canada Flock FB page? If not and you’d like me to add you please send me an e-mail! runnerleana at gmail dot com.

Leave a Reply

