Summer 2015 Book Challenge

SCSBC15

Hello friends and fellow bookworms!  As my free time devoted to reading has slowly dwindled over the last two months, I have decided to join a Summer Book Challenge to get me back into the swing of things!  The idea is that there’s a list of categories, and you choose a book that fits into each category, racking up points for each one that you accomplish.  If you’re interested in joining, visit Megan at Semi-Charmed Kind of Life to get all the details.  The Semi-Charmed Summer 2015 Book Challenge starts on May 01, 2015 and runs through August 31, 2015.  That gives me plenty of time to cross off a few books that have been sitting on my “To Be Read” shelf on Goodreads for far too long!

Here’s my { tentative } list! 

5 points: Freebie! Read any book that fits the general rules.
I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
This was the selection for our quarterly book club at work!

10 points: Read a book you have never heard of before. (Just go to a shelf and pick a book based on the cover, the title, whatever you want!)
Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
I randomly picked this one up from the Calgary Little Free Library box outside my work!

10 points: Read a book that has been on your TBR list for at least two years.
TBD
So, so many to choose from!

10 points: Read a book that won a Goodreads “Best Book” award in 2014
The Martian by Andy Weir
I currently have this book on my kindle via Blogging For Books…and can’t wait to start reading it!

15 points: Read a book by an author who is completely new to you.
TBD

15 points: Read a book by an author you have read before.
TBD

15 points: Read a book with “light” or “dark” in the title.
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

20 points: Read a book with the name of a city, state or country in the title.
TBD
As a daydreamer, I have quite a few of these on my list!  Currently considering The Paris Wife or Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal or London Eyes

20 points: Read a book with an animal on the cover.
The Elephant Whisperer by Lawrence Anthony or Tracks by Robyn Davidson

25 points: Read a book that is part of a series with at least four books.
The Likeness by Tana French (#2 Dublin Murder Squad)
I read Book #1 back in 2011…and remember thinking that I really wanted to continue the series!

25 points: Read a book that is longer than 500 pages long.
The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova
Finding a book over 500 pages was harder than I thought…but this is one of my oldest books on my To Be Read list…so why not now?!

30 points: Read a book with an alliterative title.
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

Have you ever participated in a book challenge? What’s the best book you’ve read this year??

Jen

One thought on “Summer 2015 Book Challenge

  1. I really enjoyed the Paris Wife and the Likeness. I feel like I should consider doing a book challenge. I really enjoyed Wonder which we just read for my book club.

Leave a Reply

