Leave It All On The Road // 04.27.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #9

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap (a few days late…just pretend you read this on Monday!).   20 days (3 weeks!) until the Portland Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon!!!  Oh man…getting so close!  Still on track for weekly mileage.  Original schedule for this week was an 11 miler…but we ended up doing a “practice half marathon” long run on Sunday – the Calgary Police Half Marathon!  As I mentioned last week, the hubby and I decided to do the race last minute (the last day to register), and even though it was a super hilly, and tough course, we are very proud that we ran it!!!  Race recap coming soon.

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ Apr 20 – Apr 26, 2015 }

Walking – 16.5 miles
Biking – NA
Elliptical – NA
Stairs – NA
Strength/Core – NA
Running – 21.2 miles
Total 2015 Distance: 199.72 miles

{ Fitness Notes: Schedule vs. Actual }

Portland9

04.20 – 2 mile recovery run

  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 2.0 mile recovery run @6.3 treadmill pace (9:33/mile)

04.21 – Rest

04.22 –  3.1 mile treadmill run

  • 1.0 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 3.1 mile treadmill run @6.8 (8:50/mile)
  • 0.8 mile cool-down walk

04.23 – 2 mile treadmill run

  • 1.0 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 0.5 mile warm-up walk
  • 2.0 mile treadmill run 0.5m @6.8 (8:54/mile)
  • 0.7 mile cool-down walk

04.24– Active Rest

  • 3 mile walk along Elbow River
  • 1 mile “accidental jog”.  As we were walking around town in the afternoon, we got caught in some rain, and decided to jog the ~ 1 mile back to the condo!

04.25 – Active Rest

  • 3 miles around town (AM)
  • 2 miles around town (PM)

04.26 –  13.1 miles // Calgary Police Half Marathon

  • 13.1 mile outdoor run for Calgary Police Half Marathon (9:06/mile) (AM)
  • 3.5 mile walk to shake-out legs (PM)

{ Fitness Link-Ups }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

What I’m most proud of:

Sub 2 hours at the Calgary Police Half Marathon!!!  Feeling pretty good about not stopping at all along the Glenmore Reservoir long, hilly race on Sunday!

CalgaryPoliceFinal

Where I struggled:

I had a really really bad pain in my right side (under the rib cage) during the race…it occurred somewhere around the 7 mile (11 km) mark…and lasted almost a full 2 miles!  I tried beating the cramp out of me as I was running…I tried slowing down and taking deeper breaths…I tried matching my breath to my footfall…nothing helped.  At some point I just realized it was gone…but it was painful, and really hurt my mentality.

Thought for the week ahead:

Strong

Last week’s goals:

Goal #1: Crush the Glenmore Reservoir again this weekend.  2nd time around should be even better, right?! #SUCCESS

This week’s goals:

Goal #1: Spend the right amount of time recovering.

How is YOUR fitness training going?

RnB15_CodeCard

Jen

One thought on “Leave It All On The Road // 04.27.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #9

Leave a Reply

