Leave It All On The Road // 05.11.2015 // RnR Portland Half Training #11

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap.   6 days! until the Portland Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon!!!  This has been a rough week for me.  Although the mileage is solid for the week before a half marathon race, I’ve had a few struggles.  Remember when I had that piercing side pain during the Calgary Police Half Marathon (around the 7 mile/11km mark)…well…I discovered this week that the pain is definitely still there when I run hills.  I didn’t notice the pain last week because the outdoor run was just rolling hills.  This week the hubby and I attempted some version of a hill during each run to get our legs pumped for the 100+ft. hill in Mile 2-3.  Thursday’s run was an Elbow River loop, short and fast, but I definitely felt the pain when I crested the hill (~90 ft incline).  Amazingly, the hubby got stung by a bee (behind the ankle) near the top of the hill, so we briefly stopped to make sure the stinger was out.  I think that granted me enough time to recover my breathing, and the rest of the run was decent.  I finished strong, with an average pace of 8:38/mile.  Friday’s run was a medium distance run with a hill, but again, as soon as I got over the hill, I experienced sharp side pains.  I immediately slowed down, enough that my pace was quite a bit slower than the hubby.  He continued on to finish a 6.5 mile run (8:50/mile pace), and I cut my run short to 5.5 at 9:02/mile pace.  Saturday’s run was even worse for me – and really, really brought down my confidence.  We decided to complete a loop and a half run, including the hill, and within 1 mile in, my side hurt.  It took all my might not to cry from frustration.  I felt the tears well up, and I told myself that I just needed to “finish the loop, no matter my time.”  By the time I reached the 3 mile mark, on one side of the riverbank, I looked across the river and saw the hubby was already equi-distance from me on the opposite riverbank!  Talk about a blow to my confidence…  By the time I reached the point where we said we would complete the “half” or shorter loop, I decided to cut back across the river to the bottom of the hill and wait on the hubby.  No longer had I reached the hill, paused my RunKeeper, and looked up, then the hubby was flying on the downhill!!!  I huffed at him that I was going to take my time, and meet him on the other side, and he was off again.  When I cut over another bridge, 1 mile down from where the hubby would cross, I was only waiting minutes before he came flying down the path again!  I told myself that I would finish the last half mile strong, by his side, but I just couldn’t do it…I couldn’t run without the pain.  So I jogged in, finishing with a solid 9:20/mile average pace (best mile at 9:11, and worst mile at 9:50), cutting my long run short by 2 miles.

So where does that leave me?  Rest. Rest. Rest.  Ice. Ice. Ice.  And epsom salt baths…just because.  I honestly don’t know what’s going on with my body.  I joked with some co-workers that I pulled an ab muscle during the police half.  I don’t think it’s that severe…I think I just strained it and it needs time to heal.  So I’m going to try my hardest to NOT run this week until Friday…giving me a solid 5 days off….followed by a short, and semi-flat run.  Then Saturday will be an “active rest” day of mostly walking…and pray for the best for the half on Sunday!!!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ May 04 – May 10, 2015 }

Walking – 20.65 miles
Biking – NA
Elliptical – NA
Stairs – NA
Strength/Core – NA
Running – 16 miles
Total 2015 Distance: 228.14 miles

{ Fitness Notes: Schedule vs. Actual }

Portland11

05.04 – Active Rest

  • 1.0 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 1.0 mile walk home (PM)

05.05 – Active Rest

  • 1.0 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 1.0 mile walk home (PM)

05.06 – Active Rest

  • 1.0 mile walk to work (AM)
  • 1.0 mile walk home (PM)

05.07 – 3.1 mile run

  • 1.0 mile warm-up walk
  • 3.1 mile run (8:38/mile)
  • 1.0 mile cool-down walk

05.08 – 5.5 mile run

  • 1.0 mile warm-up walk
  • 5.5 mile run (9:02/mile)
  • 1.0 mile cool-down walk

05.09 –  7.38 mile run

  • 1.0 mile warm-up walk
  • 7.4 mile run (9:20/mile)
  • 1.0 mile cool-down walk

05.10 –  Active Rest

  • 6.65 mile walk (AM)
  • 2 mile walk (PM)

{ Fitness Link-Ups }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

Thought for the week ahead:

10983208_874985555894489_484482868375334760_n

Last week’s goals:

Goal #1: Stay strong and stay healthy for the next two weeks. #INPROGRESS

This week’s goals:

Goal #1: Rock Portland!

How is YOUR fitness training going?

RnB15_CodeCard

Jen

Leave a Reply

