Leave It All On The Road // 06.22.2015

Hello friends!  It’s time for my weekly fitness recap.  I can’t believe it’s been a full month since I’ve shared my weekly update…but it’s been a bit of hit and miss with blogging recently.  I had the Portland (May 17) and Calgary (May 31) half marathons two weeks apart…then a full recovery week after…followed by two semi-easy weeks of running, and just yesterday, the Banff Half Marathon!  I again have two weeks until the Calgary Stampede Half Marathon (July 5)….then finally a long seven weeks until the next half (Edmonton, August 23).  I’m looking forward to the break in racing.  Although I love races, and the medals, and the mini-trips with the hubby, my mental motivation is wavering…and I’m finding it harder to “enjoy” the long runs.  For the first time ever, I took three small (15-30 second) walk breaks during my race.  Time for a little bit of recharge, I think.  Time to focus on full weeks of training (vs. recovery weeks and light weeks) – time to focus on consistent splits – time to focus on enjoying the outside runs – and time to focus on clearing my mind of “can’t.”  Yes, some runs are harder than other runs…but the hard runs allow you to appreciate the good runs!  And consistent training will help me get back some confidence.  And perhaps I will schedule a few outdoor unplugged runs (no music, no pace) to help me settle into a rhythm and enjoy the run once again!

LeaveItAllOnTheRoad_3

{ May 11 – May 17, 2015 }

13.1 miles.  I took the entire week off leading up to the race due to a recurring pain in my side.  It seemed to do the trick, as I ran the Portland Rock’n’Roll Half pain-free!

{ May 18 – May 24, 2015 }

10.15 miles.  This was an easy recovery week.  I ran a slow 2 miles on Tuesday, an easy 3 miles on Saturday, and a “long” 5.15 miles on Sunday, followed by a few hours of Ultimate Frisbee!

{ May 25 – May 31, 2015 }

20.17 miles.  2.3 slow miles on Tuesday (I was still sore from playing Ultimate!), moderate 2.7 miles on Wednesday, fast 2 miles on Friday, and the Calgary Half Marathon on Sunday!

{ Jun 01 – Jun 07, 2015 }

8 miles.  Another easy recovery week, as I didn’t run until Friday!  We completed 6 miles in Banff on Friday, followed by a very strenuous, yet exhilarating, hike to the summit of Mt. Rundle in Banff (13K) on Saturday.  I ended the week with a slow 2 miles on Sunday to shake out my aching joints!

{ Jun 08 – Jun 14, 2015 }

12.95 miles.  I did a speedy 4.3 mile run on Thursday, followed by an 8.65 mile long run in Banff on Friday.  We also hiked Big Sister in Canmore (13K) on Saturday…so needless to say, my legs were trashed on Sunday, so that was the end of my week!

{ Jun 15 – Jun 21, 2015 }

16.2 miles.  I did an easy 1.1 miles on Monday evening, followed by a speedy 2 mile treadmill run on Tuesday.  I then proceeded to take the rest of the week off, with the exception of a long walk on Saturday (5 miles).  And on Sunday – the Banff Half Marathon!

Total 2015 Distance: 309 miles
That’s right, friends!  I’m just over halfway of my goal to reach 600 miles in 2015!

RunKeeperHalfwayThere

{ Fitness Link-Ups }

I’m linking up with Road Runner Girl for The Weekly Chase and with Jesica from rUnladylike for Week-in-Review, in the hopes that setting weekly goals will help keep me on track throughout the week!

Thought for the week ahead:

ClearCant

This week’s goals:

Roll and stretch daily!

How is YOUR fitness training going?

RnB15_CodeCard

Jen

Leave a Reply

