Summer 2015 Book Challenge // Update 2

2015BooksUpdate2

Hello friends and fellow bookworms!  As you may remember, I decided to join a Summer Book Challeng to help me cross off a few books that have been sitting on my “To Be Read” shelf on Goodreads for far too long!  The idea is that there’s a list of categories, and you choose a book that fits into each category, racking up points for each one that you accomplish. Megan’s Semi-Charmed Summer 2015 Book Challenge runs from May 01, 2015 through August 31, 2015.

Here’s my { updated } list – 100 points

5 points: Freebie! Read any book that fits the general rules.
I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
327 pages – 3/5 stars (Review)

10 points: Read a book you have never heard of before. (Just go to a shelf and pick a book based on the cover, the title, whatever you want!)
Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
368 pages – 2/5 stars (Review)

10 points: Read a book that has been on your TBR list for at least two years.
The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh (since December 26, 2012)
323 pages – 4/5 stars (Review)

10 points: Read a book that won a Goodreads “Best Book” award in 2014
The Martian by Andy Weir (384 pages) or All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (531 pages)

15 points: Read a book by an author who is completely new to you.
Lost Dogs and Lonely Hearts by Lucy Dillon (432 pages)

15 points: Read a book by an author you have read before.
Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Rossi
285 pages

15 points: Read a book with “light” or “dark” in the title.
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (531 pages) or Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones (293 pages)

20 points: Read a book with the name of a city, state or country in the title.
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain (314 pages)

20 points: Read a book with an animal on the cover.
Tracks by Robyn Davidson (camel on cover)
254 pages – 4/5 stars (Review)

25 points: Read a book that is part of a series with at least four books.
Whiskey Sour by J.A. Konrath (Jacqueline “Jack” Daniels #1) or Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones (293 pages)
292 pages

25 points: Read a book that is longer than 500 pages long.
The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova
565 pages – 2/5 stars (Review)

30 points: Read a book with an alliterative title.
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
406 pages – 5/5 stars (Review)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My Rating System
★★★★★ = Amazing!
★★★★ = A great read
★★★ = It’s good
★★ = Just ok
★ = Not for me

Have you ever participated in a book challenge? What’s the best book you’ve read this year??

Jen

2 thoughts on “Summer 2015 Book Challenge // Update 2

  1. I read The Thirteenth Tale for my winter challenge (a “bookish book”), and I absolutely adored it!! Glad to see you liked it, too. 🙂 Also, my brother just read The Martian and said I have to read it, so I hope you get to that one!

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by! (I’m totally writing this reply a month late…) I may have mentioned earlier, but I would normally never even pick-up the Martian…but I am SO GLAD that I gave it a chance 🙂 I hope you enjoy it too, when you get a chance to read it! xoxo

Leave a Reply

