5 Years Ago…I Went on a Run

On August 20, 2010, I went on a run.  I ran 2 miles in just over 25 minutes (12:30+ min/mile).   I just laced up a pair of shoes and ran around the neighborhood.  No watch, no phone, no water, no music.  I thought my lungs might never recover from the explosion and felt that my legs were permanently turned to jello!   And of course, I could barely walk for 2 days.  I had just gotten to the point that I desperately needed to lose weight…and just plain missed running…and I needed to just start – somewhere – anywhere.  (For a complete history on my love/hate relationship with running, catch up in this post HERE.)

runInspiration1

On August 20, 2011, I went on a run.  I ran 8 miles in 1 Hour, 21 Minutes (10:09 min/mile).  And I felt great!  I’d been fitted for a proper running shoe.  I tracked my distance, speed, and time.  I sometimes listened to music.  And I carried a handheld water bottle to help brave the southern heat.  And I was training for my first half marathon race in October.

running

***Skip ahead 2 Years***

On August 17, 2013, I went on a run.  I ran 13.1 miles in 2 Hours, 3 minutes, 09 seconds (9:24 min/mile).  And it was the first time I ran the half marathon race of my hometown, Parkersburg, WV.  This was also my hubby’s FIRST half marathon!  It was an incredibly challenging course – with HUGE hills and rolling hills.  But despite the elevation challenge, I completed the course only 1 minute longer than my previous two races!!!

Mile 11!

Inspiration3

On August 20, 2014, I went on a run.  I ran 3 miles in just over 25 minutes (8:32 min/mile).  Four years later…same total time…one extra mile…and four minutes less per mile.
RnRInspiration

On August 23, 2015, I went on a run.  It was the Edmonton Half Marathon (Alberta, Canada) – my sixth half marathon this year, which brought my lifetime total to 14!!!  I completed the 13.1 miles in 1 hour, 59 minutes, 55 seconds.  Although not my PR (1:55:58), it is now what I consider a consistent half marathon pace, with my last seven races hovering just over/under 9 minutes/mile (another 20-30 seconds per mile less than where I was two years ago!)Inspiration4

Within 5 years of running, I have four US states and two countries under my belt.  I have paced a friend in her first ever race (Stacy in New Orleans Crescent City Classic 10K).  I have marked off a bucket list race in Washington, D.C. (Cherry Blossom 10-Miler).  I have run side by side with two of my best friends as they completed their first half marathon race (Jenna at Jazz Half and Hubby at Parkersburg Half).  I have been selected as a Race Ambassador for the Rock’n’Roll Half Marathon series!  I have run numerous sub-2-hour half marathons and am working my way to a sub 1:55!  By the end of this year I will have completed ten, yes TEN, half marathons in one year with my hubby….

…all of this…and so much more…is why I run.  And will continue to run.

How far along have you come on YOUR running journey?  Where do you hope to be by this time next year??

Jen

4 thoughts on “5 Years Ago…I Went on a Run

  1. you rock!!! I have come a long ways…yet have stalled. Having shingles twice in past 3 years have sort of given me grief…but i have come a long ways in terms of persevering and still loving it!!! I sure hope that i have lots of years left in my running tho! I might be slow, but I o feel fabulous!

  2. Love this! Those are some incredible achievements you have there, Jen!

    I actually miss running so badly, but I didn’t do it consistently enough to run while pregnant. Especially during stressful times, I wish I could go for a run. My running journey is smaller, a couple of 5ks and 10ks, but I already plan for my first race run post-baby to be the 2016 Mothers Day run in Calgary. I’m hoping it will be great motivation to burn off the baby weight and get me back to being me.

Leave a Reply

