Good Reads // August 2015

ReadingBench

Hello friends and fellow bookworms!  It’s time for my monthly book reviews post – a little slower reading month than the past couple of months, but at least I got in one book.  Enjoy!

Rating System
★★★★★ = Amazing!
★★★★ = A great read
★★★ = It’s good
★★ = Just ok
★ = Not for me

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
book_bossypantsTitle: Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Series:NA
Audiobook Narrated By: Tina Fey
Length: 5 hours, 35 minutes
Published:April 5, 2011 by Hachette Audio
Pages: 227 pages (Paperback)
Category: Non Fiction, Biography
Overall Rating: ★★★

The first lines: “My brother is eight years older than I am.  I was a big surprise.  A wonderful surprise, my mom would be quick to tell you.  Although having a baby at forty is a commonplace fool’s errand these days, back in 1970 it was pretty unheard-of.  Women around my mom’s office referred to her pregnancy as ‘Mrs. Fey and her change-of-life baby.’ When I was born I was fussed over and doted on, and my brother has always looked out for me like a third parent.  The day before I started kindergarten, my parents took me to the school to meet the teacher.  My mom had taken my favorite blanked and stitched my initials into it for nap time, just like she’d done for my brother eight years earlier.  At the teacher conference my dad tried to give my nap time blanket to the teacher, and she just smiled and said, ‘Oh, we don’t do that anymore.’ That’s when I realized I had old parents.  I’ve been worried about them ever since.”

Summary from Goodreads: Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.  She has seen both these dreams come true.  At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon—from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.  Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy.

My thoughts Loved this as an audiobook – and be able to hear the “true voice” of Tina Fey. This is a good book that had me chuckle out loud every once in a while! I liked that it was a series of short stories rather than one long prose.

What are you currently reading? 
Jen
Leave a Reply

